Solved How to make multiple exhaust nodes?

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by karost, Jan 18, 2017.

  1. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Hello, I was wondering on how to create multiple exhaust nodes, like having exhaust tips on both the left and the right side of a vehicle and make both of the exhausts spit out fumes.

    Thanks for helping.

    After understanding this, I wan't to explain how I THINK I did it.
    So, the node e1 on the picture is an engine node,
    the ex1 is the 1st exhaust node, ex2 the 2nd and ex3 the last.
    So from e1 I put a beam between it and ex1, and gave it the property of "isexhaust:true"
    I did the same with both ex2 and ex3 but connected them both to ex1. And gave both ex2 and ex3 the property of "isexhaust:true" aswell.

    What I think it would look like in a .jbeam document:

    ["e1","ex1",{isexhaust:true}]
    ["ex2","ex1",{isexhaust:true}]
    ["ex3","ex1",{isexhaust:true}]

    Please tell me if I wrote something wrong. And criticize my picture :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • exhausttrue.png
    #1 karost, Jan 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  2. meywue

    meywue
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    339
    Hey,

    you are not allowed to have multiple exhaust node. Instead you have to create kind of a junction.

    First create one single exhaust node by adding the specific property to the node.

    Code:
    ["e3r", 0.12, -1.62, 0.74,{"isExhaust":true}],
    After that you will just define the corresponding beams which are leading the way towards the final node of the exhaust (another time by adding the same property to the beams). That's why you are able to rip off parts off the exhaust and the fume will come out at these positions.

    e.g. in the engine.jbeam

    Code:
    ["e1r","e3r"{"isExhaust":true}],
    
    e.g. in the exhaust.jbeam
    Code:
    ["ex1","e1r"{"isExhaust":true}],
    ["ex1","ex2"{"isExhaust":true}],
    ["ex3","ex2"{"isExhaust":true}]
    etc.


    So that's why you need to add kind of junctions like we do in the semi_exhaust.jbeam if you want to have multiple fume outputs.

    e.g. in the exhaust.jbeam
    Code:
    ["ex1","e1r"{"isExhaust":true}],
    ["ex1","ex2"{"isExhaust":true}],
    ["ex1","ex4"{"isExhaust":true}]
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. enjoyinorc6742

    enjoyinorc6742
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,631
    so in other words, no straight pipe dual exhaust on the D-series.....now that i think about it.......*goes to request dual pipes on the D-series
     
  4. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,782
    I think that you could get dual exhaust by having two I4 engines instead of single V8 engine in engine bay, of course it would become wonderfully complicated to get output of those two engines to wheels, but as BeamNG supports several engines, this way you could cheat and have dual exhaust.

    Of course two I4 engines would not be same as single V8 engine and it would be ridiculous way to get dual exhaust, but I believe that would make it happen.
     
  5. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Excactly what I thought of doing.
     
  6. enjoyinorc6742

    enjoyinorc6742
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,631
    transmissions can only have 1 input and i think only one engine per vehicle
     
  7. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Isn't there already a mod that does that? stubby T-series I think it's called...

    Having 2 fume outputs that is.
     
  8. meywue

    meywue
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    339
    Heh guys... what about the default T-Series truck??!

     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,782
    It has T-pipe from single exhaust source, so it is not 'real' dual exhaust, with V-engine each pipe runs from own exhaust manifold without connecting to each other (unless you have X-pipe, H-pipe or similar) so having dual individual exhaust poses different problem.



    Two diffs, connect diffs to wheels and to each other, two gear boxes? Or using transfer case? Certainly there should be a way to use two engines as there is possibility to have many, can torque converter accept more than one engine to input or does things go berserk?
     
  10. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    yes,
    I did what you said, but when i check in the beam/node editor thing nothing is connected
     
  11. enjoyinorc6742

    enjoyinorc6742
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,631
    the nodebeam editor hasn't been updated in AGES, it probably doesn't have that ability
     
  12. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    nvm...
    --- Post updated ---
    What tools to use then? :(
     
  13. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Just make the tagged exhaust beams branch immediately from the start node to follow some of the engine block beams. They don't break, so you will always get 2 smoke points when the exhaust falls off.

    So, you will have 1 start node, and 2 beams coming from that node, 1 to one side of the block, 1 to the other.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    333
    Yes, if you just consider the engine as the single exhaust source - it is exactly like "true dual" exhaust imo. Comes out of two sides, from a single source.

    BNEditor still works. It's quite useful if you can get past it quirks. Used on T-series exhaust and cab below.

    You can have two engines, but they can not be connected to the same tree, or the same wheel, unfortunately. Which kind of negates any plans I would have had for running multiple engines. :(
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_00376.png
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    hrmm.....
    --- Post updated ---
    Thanks for the help guys!
     

    Attached Files:

    • caugh.png
    • muchcaugh.png
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Haida

    Haida
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    848
    god no
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice