1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

0.24 Discussion thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leeloo, Dec 2, 2021.

  1. beamn driver

    beamn driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    175
    no way this is a new interface
     
  2. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,406
    Thanks for the feedback. A couple of clarifications:
    - One of the main goals we had with the UI has happened under the hood, and has gone completely unnoticed (except for maybe the most expert UI modders). It hasn't been just a visual revamp + dark theme. These reworked internals of UI code are now directed towards new gameplay features (such as the Mission system, and other future features). Further under-the-hood UI work will continue to happen after 0.24, although it won't be nearly as visually striking.
    - Halting work on revamping content to modern standards will not transform our very experienced 3d artists into expert programmers overnight (and viceversa). The same happens for all other disciplines involved in developing a game with such a wide scope as BeamNG.drive. So rest assured, progress on bugfixes, new features, etc is happening as fast as is reasonable given our resources :)
     
    • Like Like x 18
  3. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,406
    We're still working on fully fixing the Radial menu. v0.24.0.1 has brought some fixes, but not all of them yet. Sorry for the inconvenience, but it's proving to be quite difficult to fix correctly!
     
    • Like Like x 9
  4. Tsutarja495

    Tsutarja495
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    785
    +1, here's a better look at that water bug:

     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. NublyBubly

    NublyBubly
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    found out that it happens when you open the settings menu, and then try to open the radial
     
  6. The Game 2

    The Game 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Also I would like to mention that the default vehicle is always saved as the Blue d series when I try to set it to something else it never changes. it's always the same d series which honestly is very bad and needs to be fixed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,406
    Yep, I just took care of this issue, the bugfix will be in the next update (no ETA yet I'm afraid).
     
    • Like Like x 8
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. The Game 2

    The Game 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Thanks very much. That is what I like to hear.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. beamn driver

    beamn driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    175
    I noticed that after trying to reassign the key (and it doesn't work just by pressing apply, everything is the same)the radial menu also stops working
     
  10. starscollide5

    starscollide5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    * AI settings do not stick, jump all over the place all the time - particularly Mode and Risk settings, although other are affected too;

    * Traffic App resets all the time, cannot be hidden in cockpit mode, cannot be minimized in any mode like in prior BeamNG versions.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. titanic4

    titanic4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    That's a nice thing to hear. Also, what about the issue with 10 second delay when using vehicle selector for the first time after the LUA instance is initialized?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Covalence

    Covalence
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Just got the update and so far the new materials and remasters are awesome! Some bugs I've noticed are:
    • you can't resize UI applets unless you drag them to the bottom of the screen (it seems the resize buttons only work when they are in the bottom bar)
    • the "Radial Menu" text is too far down (most noticeable at 1080p)
    • the mouseover text for the Radial Menu button says "[action=toggleRadialMenu] Radial Menu"

    • the Edit button in UI Apps has the tooltip "ui.appselect.edit"
    • the menu messes up at 720p, there is too much left padding on the Radial Menu button and text is cut where it should be avoided:

    • and at incredibly low resolutions like 800x600 and 640x480 parts of the UI get pushed off screen and the icon for the Radial Menu disappears (although I imagine very few people play at these resolutions, they're still allowed by the game)
    • at 720p there are now only 2 rows in the vehicle selector when there used to be 4 (unsure if this is a bug or if there's a way to change this since I usually play at 720p, although I couldn't find anything)
    • the H45 cargo box upfit has no ABS even though all other H45 models and the pre-remaster one did
     
    • Like Like x 4
  13. Johan The Channel

    Johan The Channel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Nice update, but I'm not able to access that world editor that used to be Ctrl+Shift+F11.
     
  14. akumazedex

    akumazedex
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I get an issue with the new menu where I will exit out from the menu (ie messing with vehicle configs) and the button mapping will still act like it's in the menu. I've duplicated this on two separate PCs with different mod loads. Playing on xbone controllers but the same effect if trying the keyboard.

    Not sure if this has been already patched.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,143
    Sometimes my friend does because of potato pc, then everything becomes w i d e
     
  16. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6,504
    It was removed months ago as far as I remember
     
  17. DriverSanFran1199

    DriverSanFran1199
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Well, I hope you guys can work it out. I believe in you.
     
  18. XtremeMan

    XtremeMan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Shadows with lowest lighting quality now have a border.
    Also wind now makes an annoying loud noise when viewed from the hood camera.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 20211204010349_1.jpg
    #498 XtremeMan, Dec 3, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2021
  19. nortenho

    nortenho
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    480
    I dont know why but when i try to open the Repo folder it just dont open and nothing happen
     
  20. freddy5404

    freddy5404
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    320
    https://i.imgur.com/yZJ2rx2.png
    How do I grab this from the new world editor? Like i know in the old world editor it was kind of near where asset browser is now like in a fold called environmental or something where it had the sound space and other stuff like that?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice