On Hold 1984 - 2006 The Brutus

Discussion in 'Land' started by Sithhy™, May 16, 2017.

Tags:
?

Should the "empty" grille be replaced with the one from the Hopper on all hoods?

Poll closed Apr 26, 2019.
  1. Yes, do it

    27.3%
  2. No, don't do it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Leave them as separate designs

    72.7%
  1. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    It will be roughly around a normal Hummer H1... potentially a couple hundred pounds lighter or heavier... Naturally, depending on the parts you use, the more parts you have on the truck, the heavier it gets. I don't think it will be possible to break into the 10,000lb region when everything is all said and done... but we shall see.

    Most standard configurations average around 7,500 lbs... roughly speaking.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. gamer123 2

    gamer123 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    I noticed there is a 6x6 version with wheels, will there be an option for a 6x6 with tracks?
     
  3. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,064
    Such config is not planned for now but maybe we will make one some time in the future. Right now the best you can do is to swap the front wheels with tracks
     
  4. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    Yeah... its not that it can't be done... don't get me wrong there... it totally can. Its more along the lines of should it be done. Let me explain...

    Right now we have the tracks set up basically in a way that they can be used across vehicles with 8 Lug hubs. I know, not very exciting or interesting. That being said though, with them being set up this way, I can actually set them up so that other vehicles can use the tracks and not just the B1. Granted, right now there are like... what... 3 vehicles that can accept 8 Lug wheels? That's not super interesting.

    So... Sithhy and I are thinking of "potentially" making the tracks into its own mod. Where we would have a track type (or more depending how creative we want to be) where we would have all the common lug counts with their own unique track types for the vehicle size applications. Naturally having tracks for a 4 lug hub that comes with the B1 seems kinda silly, thus the consideration into doing this. If I make them global... the thought is I should make them VERY global.

    Granted I literally haven't made a single other track yet... so don't get to excited yet... This is still up in the air and up for discussion as of right now. Right now I have some weird quirks I still need to work out on the tracks that I didn't have when they weren't global... like the fact that they REFUSE to spawn without a fake tire spawning with them (I have no idea why) and... for whatever reason... the automatic transmissions seem to forget how to transmission? Like... it doesn't want to upshift out of first. It works fine otherwise... just no shifting. My guess is this issue is probably caused by those weird extra invisible wheels, but I just haven't pinned it down yet.

    Anyways... enough rambling.

    If you see a new thread pop up in the future about tracks.... you know what's going down and that the 6x6 probably won't get its special track as including one special track for one mod that the user may not even download (but why wouldn't you, I mean come on now) would be kinda silly. If I can't solve those issues with making them global, and have to resort to keeping them in this mod alone because I needed to build special parts for them or something, then the 6x6 will probably end up with its special track.
     
    • Like Like x 11
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,351
    The automatic transmission issue is present on all the tracked vehicle mods I know and it's due to the bug where the car won't shift if none of the tires are touching the ground, in this case it has no tires so it will never shift. The same issue appears if you drive a car on a Jbeamed bridge, because that is not the ground.
    About the other issue, perhaps it's something related to part of pressureWheels code being required for rotators to spawn? Have you tried removing line by line to find out which are the needed ones?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    Well that's very interesting... I had no idea that was a thing. So the fact that it is spawning those extra tires is probably what is throwing me off isn't it... Because the way I have created the tracks, the game actually does think they are wheels (don't ask me how, I am not entirely sure how I did that myself quite yet) but since it is spawning in with these extra imaginary ghost wheels, it ends up having 8 wheels instead of 4... and the 4 ghost wheels are never in contact with the ground as they are smaller than the tracks. When I had all bespoke parts and the tracks weren't global, the ghost wheels didn't spawn at all, and the transmission shifted just fine... so if I can figure out why they are showing up that might solve both issues in one go!

    That is actually very useful information, thanks for that... I was barking up the wrong tree thinking I had something wrong in my drivetrain code.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,351
    1 more thing, are they on standard 8-lug wheel hubs or dually? If the latter then it would kinda explain why it needs extra wheels, because well, they are dual.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    No, they are the regular 8 lug hubs. I think (and this is only a guess) it actually has something to do with the brakes. In regular Beam Vehicles, the brake rotors actually have their own pressure wheel code, so that when you take off the tire, and take off the wheel, but leave the brakes intact, it actually defaults to a pressure wheel defined as the brake disk. All this gets overwritten when you install a rim, but if you don't, it just creates that little brake disk so you still have nodes and beams properly defining what's left... that and what other game lets you drive on the brake disks, I mean, come on now... that's pretty awesome.

    The basic issue with this is that this means there are parameters defining the brakes in the JBeam that the tracks are just incapable of overwriting... because it just doesn't exist to be overwritten. I might be able to redefine some of the parameters though to "turn them off" so to speak... granted I am only thinking this up now as I am sitting here... I have no idea if it will actually work.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  9. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,351
    What happens if you just remove the brakes though?
     
  10. crazyguy69

    crazyguy69
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    will there be a plan for a late war up armored version of the B1 im thinking like this
     

    Attached Files:

    • M1151.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Jiffu

    Jiffu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2021
    Messages:
    40
    I think the name of this thread would look better if it was The Brutus (1984 - 2006) It sounds better if The is the first word in my opinion.
     
  12. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    That's a good question... I don't know... I will have to try it and see I guess.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. chesley pye

    chesley pye
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    can't wait to use this
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  14. MaxTax

    MaxTax
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    when release
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Thefollower1248

    Thefollower1248
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Messages:
    8
  16. ibushu200bx

    ibushu200bx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    34
    how can i get this(cuz i see people who have it)
     
    #2836 ibushu200bx, Jun 17, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2021
  17. Dark Master

    Dark Master
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    When the thread is ((WIP)) this means its work in progress when it says WIP-beta released then ask for download permission
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  18. Elving

    Elving
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Literally in the first post: "It is not ready for release just yet. Plenty of work to be done still; more parts, better textures, better handling, configs etc.."
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  19. Bill245474

    Bill245474
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    49
    bruh
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. gamez4dayz11

    gamez4dayz11
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    i want it how do i get it
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice