WIP Beta released A new *CITY* map - LOS INJURUS 2021-06-21

The large city of Los Injurus welcomes you with an update!

  1. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,025
    Dead mobo? Wasn't as ASRock by chance was it? I blew my ASRock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 board up in 3 months with a 3950x on a Noctua (NH-D-15-S), I think the VRM's got too warm for too long and the power surge was the straw that broke the Asrock camel's back. It did live a year prior with a 3700x and a stock (down-draft) cooler immediately prior though. Down-draft/stock coolers also cool VRM's, but this board DID have heatsinks on the VRM so I wasn't very worried, the case was roomy, and nothing was overclocked. The hot-plug Sata feature NEVER worked on that board though, and until I updated the BIOS, the fan would surge up and down a lot (that last bit never really bothered me).
    Put in an ASUS x570 Tuf Gaming Wifi Plus and have zero issues since then - plus the Sata hot-plug feature actually works on this board (something I need for slapping files around and making backups!).
    Will only use ASRock in email computers / office machines, never in mind unless it's a Taichi or similar-priced (or more expensive) model. The Taichi is good. Admittedly, the 3950x, while stock, was really pushing the limits of a board with an honestly C-grade VRM solution on it, at best.

    Do enjoy traffic, it's a hoot. It's where this game really shines. When I first beta-tested the traffic app before it was released, I couldn't stop racing around Roane County map for hours! I didn't care about sleep I probably needed - I just wanted to have a good time enjoying a finally-that-much-more-realistic driving game.


    Performance performance performance!!!
    For those curious, a 3700x 8-core processor gets you around 15~18 vehicles COMFORTABLY (you can go more, but you'll be at 20~30fps more than 30~45fps).
    A 3950x processor gets you somewhere up to 28 vehicles before the game really has rendering-engine bottlenecks preventing smooth FPS more than physics issues, and causes the game to go below 20fps (minimum FPS for full speed simulation) now and then. On pure-grid it can do more, owing to a rendering engine bottleneck mentioned just last sentence. All processors mentioned are 7nm Ryzen processors. Unmentioned OEM-only 4000-series is plenty good, too.
    Tests were done on 0.20. The game may perform better, or worse, or may perform differently on different makes of processors with the current game version. For the record a 5000 series AMD CPU is to be considered 20% faster than it's like-cored 3000 series counterpart. Like-cored meaning same amount of cores/threads. This increase in processing power is extended even further when using low-latency high-speed dual-channel dual-rank RAM configurations (16gb DDR4 sticks are almost always dual rank). The memory I have here is dual channel dual rank but a 'lowly' 3000mhz CL-15 (same as 3200mhz CL-16, 3600mhz CL-18, it all works out to end up identical) but it WAS on sale for some 40% off at the time - which is why I saved it out of a lonely dusty (not really) bargain bin.
    A 5000 series AMD Ryzen processor will give you a nice balance of so-many-cores and single-core turbo/burst speeds. A new intel processor should be comparable in performance but harder to cool, and less power efficient. A 3700x / 5800x should be more than plenty for this game for it's price, for most folks.
    The NEW 12000 series intel chips I do not have any information of, other than they should be good once you shut down the E-cores and crank up the ring-bus speed, as E-cores hold P-cores back due to lower ring-bus speeds supported by E-cores. I do NOT have any info on how BeamNG handles the E-cores, but I hope it's better than most other things thus far with them. I wouldn't take a big.little CPU if you gave it to me free unless I was allowed to immediately turn around and sell it. That's just asking for trouble this early in the product release.
    If on a serious budget, try to get a 10400/10600k intel or Ryzen 3600x/5600x/4600g processor which generally gives 6 cores and 12 threads and should run 10~12 vehicles fairly reliably without too much hitching or slow-down.
    When I used the word COMFORTABLY above, I mean the simulation staying at or above 40~45fps most of the time. There will be little dips here and there as-is par-for-the-course when using pre-release mega-threaded software like this. It's not easy to synchronize this many threads, after-all. Generally at 40~45fps your response times (lag-times) between input and output aren't as large and also the game responds more times per-second to what you do, making it much easier to not over-correct or ham the pedals too much causing loss of control.
    Performance information is listed there for those who are considering putting a system together. It doesn't have to be brand new, but anything semi-recent that's come out since 2019 or so should be plenty-more-than-enough. That having been said a 5 year old used i7 will still do the job if you don't need as much traffic.
    Using a 4000-series AMD APU, or a 12000 series intel APU, should get-you-by for now without a discrete GPU, considering there is next to no availability for GPU's right now. Want a GPU but can't get a GPU? Best bet is to go down to the nearest brick and mortar store that sells such things, and ask when they'll be in next, and try to bribe someone or pay then-and-there and ask to pick it up when it comes in. Also, a friend or acquaintance might have a used GPU for sale or in an older broken computer that might just do, so it doesn't hurt to ask around.


    Working on buildings this week. Need to get stuff fleshed out so I can build up the area near the bridge. Take a look at this ugly WIP thing. The texturing is mostly finished but the store-front looks like trash yet with it's temporary texturing. It'll get there, needs another 2 hours of work and it'll be ready. Of-course I'll make sure the window texture isn't so obviously repeating, and give it a little more grunge/wear/filth to make it realistic, and a few greebs (electrical boxes, HVAC, etc) to liven it up some. This building will have several variations in size and shape, and also texture re-skins, including an abandoned version.
     

    Attached Files:

    • other_things_to_come.png
    • Like Like x 2
  2. tryingtodriftlmao

    tryingtodriftlmao
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Messages:
    53
    noice progress dude, pretty sure once this finishes it'll be nuts to look at!
     
  3. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6,806
    Since last update you can't use parts selector on this map, the camera gets a really weird FOV and when you try to change the car's skin on the map then it becomes half-invisivble (and it only ever happened to me on this map so far)
    ewaf.png
    wrfee.png
    Idk if you can fix it but maybe you can somehow, the map had messed with the player's camera settings before and you fixed it back then
     
    #2083 Agent_Y, Dec 11, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2021
  4. Blood-PawWerewolf

    Blood-PawWerewolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    it happens even in my Talladega map. no major edits have been made (attempting to convert the textures to a PBR friendly format), so i believe it's a bug in the game
     
  5. Grind86

    Grind86
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,732
    The work you're doing on this map is absolutely amazing. I have a question, though. Will there be no truck and low clearance signs on posts and will you be to add them to spots like the other signs on posts in the editor. Thanks for all of the work you do on this map?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Fox Next Door

    Fox Next Door
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2021
    Messages:
    70
    I was going to edit the quote, but I don't want to take away from the effect.

    I have never trusted ASROCK since I owned a GPU that I sent back the same day due to it not being what I paid for.
    The board I have is/was an ASUS TUF X570 Pro wifi 6. One of the RAM slots was never put onto the board, and I didn't want to mess with it. I got the new board now, super excited to play Beam with the new hardware :D
     
  7. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,025
    QC must be slipping a lot if they forgot to put a DDR4 DIMM (ram) slot on the actual board itself! I've never, ever seen that since I started opening up my computers in mid 1995 about 7~8 months after I started using computers in the end of 1994. That's some 28 years - but I don't doubt you one single bit. Odd things DO happen with computers - that is why the techs get paid big-bucks to fix them. I do specialize in retro to current gen hardware, it's nuances/quirks, even as far as setting IDE jumpers, sound card jumpers, CPU bus speed, voltage and multiplier jumpers on motherboards. When I started computering [deliberate sic], nothing and I mean NOTHING had plug-and-play - it was ALL jumpers or if you got lucky, dip switches - heck, Windows 95 wasn't even out yet to make use of plug-and-play anyway. I guess I'll always have a soft spot for Doom / Doom II (etc), Duke3D, the Doom Construction Kit by Ben Morris (made Worldcraft/Valve's hammer editor later, too!), and the whole bunch of Dos / Windows 3.11 WFW stuff I used to use back in the day when snow storms prevented us from leaving the house - much less actually making it to where we tried to go.
    So yeah, before I get too far off on a tangent, that absolutely and royally sucks. I hope they made good on it. Enjoy your tech, I have pretty much the same board & it's great.
    NB: Shut off the wireless card in BIOS before you install or boot Windows 10!!! Otherwise it'll BSOD with the included Windows 10 driver that will automatically load. Download a driver update to a flash disk, install Windows and install the update. After you install it, THEN enable the wireless NIC feature in BIOS. Windows should boot without issue. It's the only short-coming the wifi version of this board has, and it's the NIC chip manufacturer's doing not ASUS. If you cannot seem to fix it, google it, or failing that DO ask me about it. You do not need to re-install Windows if you're updating from a recent install, just keep in mind switching the motherboard can invalidate OEM class licenses of Windows unless your version allows for X amount of motherboard swaps.

    @Grind86 - It'll be awesome when it's done, I promise everyone that much. When it'll get done - well that depends how much the challenge is along the way, what the project funding is like (it's alright now, I can't complain, I am covering my software fees but admittedly it's not a lot of assets per month), though I don't get upset provided the funding can cover the software costs and the occasional (supposedly rare) unplanned hardware failure so that I can keep on going here.
    If the funding ever increases by another 50~75% then maybe I can cover cellular internet here so that I can update more often - it's the only other choice we have besides 3mbit DSL right now and our satellite internet is Dumpster Fire city.




    Speaking of update, I have to get this out by mid-week or I'll miss the cut-off before the devs take holiday. I have a week, it'll be there!
    I am currently getting more permissions from various folks I have purchased (or looking up author's info to add to ask permission on & add appropriate credits if I found CC-SA licensed good models). This is what's holding me up. What doesn't get back in time (license clearance), will stay out of the update until I get a resolution on that via email from the author of any such models. The 11-foot-8 bridge will be in as that's clean and clear 100% made here, using the 3D scan model of it as only a guide and sharing no components / textures. I will have a few buildings in at the very least, and otherwise have some bugs fixed.

    The bug with the camera is something new in this update. I don't have much else modified but I will have a look-see and talk to the developers about it. These things can happen possibly if you run out of video memory - try medium settings if you have 4gb or more of video memory, and low settings if you have 2~3gb just to rule that out. It can also be caused by out of date video drivers (though, mine are pretty old here as I don't update anything unless there's a good security risk I don't wish to take or something is acting broken, I haven't hit that bug YET though for now). It's most likely an engine bug however, so DO pass info along to the developers on how you made that happen and what maps break.

    The little details - like the step going up into the back door of the building, or stuff on the roof (I have more stuff not hand-made here that's part of a 'city roof details' kit that isn't in game data / models quite yet - soon on that).
    LOD's are proper and shouldn't leave nasty pop-in too badly. I have not cut short making good UV's, or pushed out poor quality detail levels to save time yet - so performance should be comparable to before and allows me to add a lot more detail to the buildings. I am yet careful just how much I add too soon though.
    The texture on the step is new, I recently made that after becoming annoyed that I couldn't find one, and I have grown weary of the current sidewalk textures in the map (they were too white, needs more beige color, not sure if the change on those will make beta or not as I'd have to change the road LOD textures too!).

    It's still hitting 60~70F here more than half the days of the week (or at-least half) and has caused me to be outside bumbling about the property fixing things more, so if I've been quiet, I've just been out-doors taking advantage of a good time not getting frostbite when fixing things that need fixing around the home. This hasn't helped me get past license snafu-o-plenty either. It can take a few days just getting one set of models cleared. Just because something can be downloaded for free (or purchased reasonably), doesn't mean I can throw it in the map and essentially let everyone else who makes maps use it - however I won't use free assets that have share-alike on them without making an author aware that this is a donation-supported project, all things considered. This should save some pain, and puts me in a lot less hot water legally. Plain creative-commons models are absolutely fair game though - but I still try to credit folks who's models are used. This legalese is required to make sure that the DMCA monster doesn't bite us where the sun doesn't shine mid-project (or worse when it's done). Commercial models not cleared for re-use by other modders on this website / in their custom maps for this game will be kept in the /commercial folder that has been brought up before, with an accompanying warning. The texture indices also have this warning in the appropriate places in-case the former is missed.
    My health hasn't helped as I pretzeled my back again for about the last week by bending down too much, but I've still got some time I will be putting in before I push out the next update (to get the update out before Christmas). I won't be missing this deadline if I have anything to say about it!
     

    Attached Files:

    • all_in_the_details.png
    • roof_details.png
    • Like Like x 4
  8. Grind86

    Grind86
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,732
    Yeah. This map is already awesome, but it just keeps getting better and better.
     
  9. Fox Next Door

    Fox Next Door
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2021
    Messages:
    70
    Im using my NVMe that already had windows 10 on it to avoid clearing out my personal stuff since my 4tb external hdd is full. I also find it weird that the DIMM slot was gone lol
    its fully built now and ASUS sent a personalized card for the error too. It was quite cool tbh. A little bit can actually go extremely far for me :D Even just a simple smile made my day today. :3
    --- Post updated ---
    Edit: Also my windows wasn't invalidated like EVERYONE said it would be. I was amused to send that screenshot over discord haha

    I was told a few times to just reinstall windows lol
     
  10. silvermanblu

    silvermanblu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    Can't wait for the next update. new buildings should be a treat
     
  11. JxmmyJxmes

    JxmmyJxmes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    gday, I've got a camera glitch that zooms in and distorts the camera view when Control + W menu is opened,

    I have deep cleaned the cache twice to no avail...
     
  12. Matt_890s

    Matt_890s
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    279
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. JxmmyJxmes

    JxmmyJxmes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    ahh cheers, hopefully it'll get fixed soon ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Blood-PawWerewolf

    Blood-PawWerewolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    I really hope you can utilize the speed limits and traffic lights features that was added in v0.24
     
  15. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,025
    I have caught one of the bugs* going around, so haven't been feeling well for the last several days. I've got some of the licensing issues straightened out, but am slowly getting the map resources set up correctly. I've already merged the roads/road folders into one now, something that's been bothering me a while. I've included a picture below of one of the buildings I am working on, Brutalist architecture for the win! Has a bit of 50's ~ 60's ultra-modern (long walls full of windows from end to end) in there for good measure. The windows are a place-holder graphic I got with the model pack purchases - I won't be using these likely in the final version.
    No one UV's like THE BOB wants the UV's to be. Sure, there's better people than me out there by long and far; BUT, to-date, I haven't bought a single model that I couldn't drastically reduce the amount of needless draw calls on. This makes the difference up between Roane County and this map project as far as performance is concerned - and is the reason why this map is so much better performing.

    *Don't know if it's a cold, flu, or Covid, and don't honestly care. Just making sure to keep to myself for at-least the next week or so (or mask up when in crowded places). I'll get over it eventually, even if it takes over a MONTH to get rid of 90% of the symptoms like it did in March of this year... I just would rather it didn't drain all my strength so readily so I could do some other things around here.

    It's still 65~70F during the day here, in the end of December, and what SHOULD be the dead of winter. I don't know why or how, and honestly it's less of a worry than many other things, but really if this is global warming, I'm all for it. Three cheers for global warming!!!
    It's about as likely to be 60~70F on Christmas as it is to have some snow falling here, as-per the news in Knoxville. I think I'll take the 60+ degree temps any day over snow.

    I hope everyone got what they wanted for Christmas, and then some. There WILL be a release as soon as I have the peace-of-mind to get the map resources straightened out and updated to the new version.
    This next release will go over to the Beamng official servers within a week following private beta release. The main issue I've had besides me losing most of my time to fixing the house due to warm temps, is that...
    1.) while I could have added more resources in already, I'd have to do that work twice with the format update (on graphics and also getting rid of the old C-script graphics indices)
    2.) I've moved a LOT of resources around and can't even fire up the map at this very moment without lots of angry red words in the console and no-texture (orange) surfaces abound, as I don't have all the C-script files concatenated to be converted over yet.
    3.) I need to pull the old ECA resources out of the map as they don't belong here (and were only for a concept over by the huge skate-park thing that is made for vehicles).
    4.) When moving folders around, the 'forest objects' part of the data has to be completely re-pathed, this is not fun fiddling with that stuff and quickly breaks things if you're not super-duper careful.
    5.) Doing complicated things when one has a fever, upper/lower respiratory ailment(s) usually ends quite badly.
    6.) I don't have all the tunnel sections updated to the lesser-detailed but not nearly as GPU-memory intensive versions yet. This is the tunnel by the airport that causes mega-slowdown. I am merely removing surplus detail such as 3d bolt heads and super-mega-complex guide rail (substituted for walls or Jersey-barriers etc). It will go from 500~600mb to about 1/3rd that much. I believe there's one or two sections left to do yet, but that's it - I've already done two or three of them (forgot!). The tunnel will still have 90% of it's slightly-neglected character when it's done, it'll just tank performance a lot less readily. 500mb just for models is 1/16th the entire scene budget (of 8gb max) and too much to spend on just one or two tunnels with a game-engine that doesn't know how to unload resources when they're out of sight or far away. Keep in mind when this map is done, you will need more than 8gb of VRAM to run this map at 100% max texture detail. Consider 12~16gb a good amount of VRAM (this is not system RAM, where you'll need a solid 16gb to start, although the map could run on less).

    So yeah, no pity needed nor requested with how I feel right now; but I just wanted to let folks know I'm here, still progressing things along, and that you needn't worry. I will have more pictures as I get more buildings finished up over here. I just bit off a whole lot more than I can chew at once and I'm scrambling a bit to get it all patched up and out the door.

    Pictures are obviously of a building that is not yet completed and are subject to change. Street pictured is merely a place-holder for perspective and such within the modeling software, as there are much superior resources for that in the map already.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Brutalist_tower.png
    • brutalist_street_level_rear.png
    • brutalist_profile_WIP.png
    • Like Like x 4
  16. jacksepticeyeGT

    jacksepticeyeGT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Is it just me or are the traffic lights broken? I made sure I don't have so cal, so I don't know what else
     
  17. TPWTB TV

    TPWTB TV
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2021
    Messages:
    499
    You might remember me from a few months ago. But the map would not download for me. And even after getting a more powerful PC, it still wont download for me. Can everyone agree with my post if you have the same problem because idk if Im the only one or not
     
  18. mickeybish1234

    mickeybish1234
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    did you try downloading the map manually and placing it in the "mods" folder?
     
  19. TPWTB TV

    TPWTB TV
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2021
    Messages:
    499
    The download never finishes. That's the problem
     
  20. jacksepticeyeGT

    jacksepticeyeGT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    So no one else has the broken textures on the streetlights?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice