A thing that we all need (Materials .CS / .JSON)

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Nekkit, Sep 3, 2019.

1. Nekkit

Nekkit
    Expand Collapse

Im not a programmer myself and i cant do it, but talking from the big part of the modding community, .json format of materials instead of .cs is really hard to switch to. Can someone make a converter from .cs to .json materials format?

• Agree Agree x 3
  2. Alex_Farmer557

Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

• Like Like x 1
  3. swift502

swift502
    Expand Collapse

Sort of. I made a simple .json to .cs converter. (Though it's currently broken) https://github.com/swift502/BeamNG-material-tools

I can definitely make a .cs to .json converter. Should be fun. :)
    I can also add any other functionality. I personally needed duplicate detection and removal so I made it for that purpose. But if you need anything specific let me know.

It's all very simple stuff though. No GUI, just python code.

#3 swift502, Sep 3, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Driv3r1142

Driv3r1142
    Expand Collapse

So can anyone explain this thing they did to materials? I asked in the discussion thread and got no answers. It's not that the format doesn't make sense, I haven't had any luck making my own materials via Notepad++ and having the game recognize them.

5. Aboroath

Aboroath
    Expand Collapse

I haven't been able to get .json figured out either. Been a HUGE reason why I don't do maps anymore. I can take a stock .json, modify it EXACTLY in Notepad and sure enough every time the game has an issue with it. A converter is certainly a great idea in my book.

6. swift502

swift502
    Expand Collapse

The 0.17 changelog says:
    "Material files moved to new Json format, allowing multiple files for better modability"

And I got this answer recently:

• Like Like x 1
  7. thomatoes50

thomatoes50
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

It may be usefull for someone but there is a tool inside the game
    Code: