Advanced Materials

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Leet34, Apr 22, 2014.

1. Leet34

Leet34
    Expand Collapse

I have a question to skilled modders/developers. Is there any decent way to create good looking realistic materials, maybe with cubemaped reflections, such as chromed metal ? And is raytrace compatible with BeamNG (or exactly T3D) ?

#1 Leet34, Apr 22, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2014
  2. BlueScreen

BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

I'm not an expert on textures, but if you want chrome I think you just set the diffuse to full black (or was it full white, I forgot) and let the BeamNG reflections handle that.

3. RedBolide

RedBolide
    Expand Collapse

It's actually pretty easy to do. I'll make a tutorial tonight when I get back to my computer. :)

4. Leet34

Leet34
    Expand Collapse

Um i know it can be created with help of dark gray texture, but im more like asking about how to tweak the reflections for it to look as real as possible.

Thanks

5. RedBolide

RedBolide
    Expand Collapse

So here's the story. I was trying to find a simple mesh to use as an example for the tutorial, and came across a really nice mesh of a car I'm rather fond of. I decided to throw it into BeamNG and use it as my example. The mesh work is all done. I'm just starting work on the materials. As I progress, I'll take some pictures and make a tutorial. If I'm super productive, I'll have it done tomorrow morning. If not, I'll have to make the tutorial on Saturday. Sorry for the delay.

6. LJFHutch

LJFHutch
    Expand Collapse
    Environment Artist
    BeamNG Team

You can also use custom skyboxes (cubemaps) for different materials (although the way I've done it is level dependant because it's used on static objects only at this point), this is a material used for certain parts of east coast which uses a custom 128x128 cubemap. It's extremely fake but effective, especially for static objects.

(imported from here)

• Like Like x 1
  7. logoster

logoster