1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.25 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Automatic sometimes won't upshift

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Unster, Jul 24, 2020.

  1. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    Anyone else experiencing this? To work around it, I have to shift to N and back to D which then allows the upshift, until the next one.

    I've tried disabling all mods. It still happens.
     
  2. Mr_StickShift

    Mr_StickShift
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    179
    Could you record this issue, and what peripheral are you using? (Keyboard, Controller, Wheel)
     
  3. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    I could record it, but I'm not sure how that would help. I'm using a wheel & pedals. It's intermittent. Sometimes the transmission upshifts on its own, sometimes it doesn't (tachometer will be bouncing against the rev limiter). I didn't have this problem in earlier versions.
     
  4. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,840
    All the transmissions won't shift if there is excessive wheelslip or if your wheels are in the air, maybe one of those happened? :)
     
  5. Mr_StickShift

    Mr_StickShift
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    179
    That's what I was thinking, after Unster said:
    The "Bouncing against the rev limiter" is seemingly what gives it away, so yeah, I think its that you are accelerating too hard causing wheelslip, I'm going to guess you aren't using a car with TC enabled, hence why wheel slip is enabled.
     
  6. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    But why didn't I see this issue before? I've been playing BeamNG for years. There was no wheel slip, at least none that I could hear. Wheels were on the ground too. I was able to reproduce it on the test grid, which is completely flat. IRL too transmissions are supposed to upshift even at full throttle once the engine reaches its rev limit or whatever the transmission is programmed to.
    --- Post updated ---
    Here's a video I just recorded, so you guys can see for yourself. As you can see, I got the issue on my 2nd try, so it is intermittent like I said. Shifting to N and back to D allows the upshift to happen.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,840
    I've never seen that before, maybe you were in 2 or 1 mode by accident?
     
  8. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,940
    He was not, looking at the gear indicator he was in Drive
     
  9. btcb48

    btcb48
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Think that shifts are prevented if >0 brake input is present.

    Try adding the in-game pedals app while also using a chase camera (to see the brake lights), your controller's brake pedal could be sticking or registering an unintended input.
     
  10. hubert2005 kam

    hubert2005 kam
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    you might be resting you foot on the brake slightly or you brake pedal might stick slightly had that problem on my old pedals
     
  11. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    You guys may be onto something with the brake pedal theory. I do have a brake pedal issue, but none that the game should care about or detect. My wheel has a defect where the brake pedal input is at 50% when fully released (and 100% when fully pressed). It's not a pedal problem but a hardware issue with the wheel itself. To work around this, in BeamNG I have the throttle assigned normally, but instead of using the brake axis for my brake I use the combined throttle & brake axis, which actually works, at least with a manual transmission. And it seemed like it worked for automatics too, until I ran into this issue.
    20200729125036_1.jpg

    Having said that, I doubt that's what's causing the issue. In this video, you can see my brake input is 0% yet the transmission still doesn't upshift. I also tried driving with the brake unassigned, and it still happened.
     

    Attached Files:

    #11 Unster, Jul 29, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
  12. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    Unfortunately this issue is still present in 0.20. It happens very consistently on the 2nd run of a vehicle with an automatic. I even tried accelerating with the keyboard instead of using my pedals and it happens as well.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. ididntpirateit

    ididntpirateit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Oh, so it's not a Wine issue. That's a relief... I guess? lol
     
  14. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    Wine? Do you mean whine? Ah no, you can see it in my videos, it's not a made up issue. But I'm puzzled as to why I seem to be the only here with it.
    --- Post updated ---
    SOLVED. It was related to my use of the combined brake & throttle axis and the throttle-only axis and the game unable to handle this combination correctly. If I slightly increase the deadzone on the combined axis, the problem goes away. Yay!
     
  15. ididntpirateit

    ididntpirateit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    No, I mean, I use Wine to run the game on Linux. And it causes some minor issues.
     
  16. Unster

    Unster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    413
    I see. No I'm on Windows 10.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice