Best GPU for 1080p gaming

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by PigeonDriver, Apr 23, 2018.

  1. PigeonDriver

    PigeonDriver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Alright, so I'm probably going to upgrade my moniter soon. My current one is an acer X223w. It has a 1680x1050 resolution and a 60 hz refresh rate, and I've always found it rather irritating. I'm planning on getting a 1920x1080 @144Hz display, and I was wondering what the best graphics card for this would be. I was looking into something like a GTX 1070, although that's pretty much my limit as I only have a 450 Watt power supply.
     
  2. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,057
    A 1070 is overkill for 1080p, unless you really want to guarantee 144fps in every game. A 1060 or even a 1050 Ti will do you well at this resolution.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Mr.Blueboy

    Mr.Blueboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Nuff said. He got it right there. (In my opinion.)
     
  4. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Keep in mind that some games run best with >= 4 GB of VRAM even at 1080p (Rise of the Tomb Raider is one from my experience, though the graphics are beautiful on that game). So make sure the card has no less than 4 GB of VRAM. 6+ GB would be ideal though.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,057
    Not necessarily, the GTX 1060 3Gb is fine for any AAA game at 1080p. My RX 460 2Gb can handle anything at 1080p, with graphics turned down slightly, but that's not solely due to a lack of VRAM.
     
  6. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Well, you're also comparing two very different architectures. I guarantee you that VRAM would cause issues for you if you ran that 1060 on ROTR at ultra high graphics. While the GPU itself is undoubtedly the more important factor, if you run out of VRAM in a game, performance will definitely take a hit and in some cases the game may crash.

    Also, see this:
    https://www.pcgamer.com/why-nvidias-gtx-970-slows-down-using-more-than-35gb-vram/
    While not directly related, it does show how VRAM can make a difference.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  7. jiangwei08

    jiangwei08
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    rip my 1050TI running every game at 4k
     
  8. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,057
    Huh? Wasn't taking about 4k, I was talking about 1080p. A 1050ti definitely won't run 4k.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. Mr.Blueboy

    Mr.Blueboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Just stick with 1080p and wait a few more years for 4K.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. The _covet

    The _covet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    It depends on what framerate you want to game at, if you want to game at 1080p 60FPS go with the 1060 for higher refresh rates go for a 1070 or a 1080
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Depends on the game too. Some games need a 1080 Ti just to hit 60 FPS at 1080p on the highest settings. I game at 1080p but am looking into getting a 1080 Ti for exactly that reason.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4,394
    Games that won't run 1080p@60fps with max details when GPU is 1050Ti 4GB
    BeamNG.Drive (depends from map, but if we want to have at least some dynamic reflections and shadows, there is going to be challenges)
    Just Cause 3
    Latest Final Fantasy
    Euro Truck Simulator 2 (it does most of the time, but in cities drops to 40-50fps)
    rFactor 2 (I think it was close though)
    Assetto Corsa (it does most of the time though)
    Arma 2
    Arma 3
    With Arma 1 it is bit borderline case, maybe it is poor optimization of that game, but it tends to get choppy with more stuff flying around.

    Most do run if lowering details tiny bit, but Just Cause 3 and latest Final Fantasy need lower resolution even at lowest settings if I remember right.

    Latest games might need bit more juice for 1080p gaming at max details than 1050Ti can provide, but most games are playable with lowering details a bit, or accepting lower framerate, however lowering framerate with any game that require precise timing or accuracy is going to require constant framerate.

    With BeamNG force feedback needs 60fps at minimum to work as designed.

    So what GPU to get GTX 1060Ti 6GB or GTX 1070, it will not be an overkill as it will last many years and after 5 years it will be slow, get more expensive / faster and you might get more years out from it. Personally I have never had GPU to fail on me, games just become more demanding so that buying faster GPU is necessary.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  13. kStor2poche

    kStor2poche
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    nope, for 144hz it should be perfect since my 8gigs rx580 (gtx 1060 equivalent) runs 1440p @ 60 not on every game but runs easily beamng drive at 70+ fps with all highest settings (highest dynamic reflections included) + my reshade preset @1080p but since for this game i'm not so much bothered about framerates I run it @~45 fps in 1440p (excepted on wcusa where it's more around 35 fps) with those settings and my latest reshade preset :
     
    #13 kStor2poche, May 20, 2018
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  14. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,057
    I said "unless you really want to run 144hz in every game" so I don't see how I was wrong.
     
  15. kStor2poche

    kStor2poche
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    yeah but we don't care about 60hz here since he'll get a 144hz monitor
     
  16. Mr.Blueboy

    Mr.Blueboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    BUT, you are running at 4k. There's a difference.
     
  17. kStor2poche

    kStor2poche
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    No, not 4k, QHD, wich is kind of a 2k ( indeed 4k is not the good term for screens since the real 4k resolution, wich is used in cinema is a little bit wider than the 16:9 aspect ratio used on almost every "4k" monitor --> btw the real name for this resolution is UHD )
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice