'bout mods

Discussion in 'Land' started by xannophorm, Sep 5, 2021.

  1. xannophorm

    xannophorm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Hello guys! I love beamng and also i am ustng many mods/ So I thought that I can be useful too.
    Well, on the way to mods i have got only 1 question - what I need to know and also make? I know, thet mb it is really stupid question, but where can I get that info in the best form? Right - on original bmng forum! So, can u answer me - what is the jbeam, where is it making and how? What 'bout 3D model, textures? Is it possible to make mods alone without knowing lua? Thanks for ur answers!
     
  2. mattsikung

    mattsikung
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Check the wiki
     
  3. e r i k

    e r i k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    487
    Well, if i'm not the dumbass i think i am, i guess you could. LUA is for mostly glowmaps (lights, working dashboards, etc.), so, you could make a car without LUA. But you need to learn blender first. It's a free program for modders and animators. The "easiest" way to make cars for BeamNG is to buy Automotion. It costs around 200 NOK or more, i haven't checked. Automotion is a game where you build your own car with it's own engine and specs. Few years back BeamNG and Automotion decided to collab. That lead to there being an Automotion test map in BeamNG, and the user/player being able to import Automotion cars into BeamNG.

    (Please, correct me if i'm wrong)

    Also, This isn't the right place to post your thread.
     
  4. Porsche lover

    Porsche lover
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    934
    Jbeam is soft body structure, lua is code
     
  5. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    1,598
    You could check this on the wiki:
    https://wiki.beamng.com/Vehicle_Creation_Megapage
    Keep in mind that some of this stuff is outdated, so you can take a look at official vehicles in the beamng root folder and see how it's made.
    You could even start by only making a 3D model, and then "slapping" it on an official vehicle's jbeam- it won't crash great, but it's a way to start. Don't release this one on the forums though, people here don't like meshslaps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. PowerstrokeHD

    PowerstrokeHD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    621
    If you weren't the dumbass we think you are then why are you posting this in the land catagory not general discussion or content creation
     
  7. General S'mores

    General S'mores
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4,492
    proceeds to not reply to the OP.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,905
    It’s very difficult to make a mod and you basically have to poke around and figure it out yourself. It takes a long ass time to learn and quite honestly it’s not worth it. If you wanna get into the modding scene a better idea is to learn a skill like modeling, texturing, and JBeaming, and then help other people out.
     
  9. e r i k

    e r i k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    487
    I'm..not the thread maker
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  10. 川流不息2191

    川流不息2191
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    300
    Oh by the way this is actually the wrong forum to discuss this kinda stuff lol.
     
  11. e r i k

    e r i k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    487
     
  12. PowerstrokeHD

    PowerstrokeHD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    621
    sorry glitch on my end. was using internet explorer because opera was acting up. now using fire fox which is working fine. stupid ass computer that i just built has had so many issues like in nvidia control panel turns down the brightness
     
  13. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,905
    fire foxy :D
     
  14. e r i k

    e r i k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    487
    Ok, i guess it all was a mistake then.
     
  15. PowerstrokeHD

    PowerstrokeHD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    621
    yeah. just got this pc. And now it wont let me use my 3tb drive and 1tb drive raid-0
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice