1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

Unsolved Campaign - Scenario HTML files do not load

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by Darthbob555, Nov 23, 2017.

  1. Darthbob555

    Darthbob555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Not sure if this is the best place to post, but I have been trying to update my mods that contain campaigns and all of them do not load up the HTML files for each of the scenarios.

    These HTML files work fine for the actual scenarios if you play them standalone.

    The error it throws in the the log is as follows:

    E|BEAMNGCEF::BNGCefClient::OnResourceResponse|MainGEUI | local://local/ui/levels/smallgrid/scenarios/roam/cargamestutorial.html | response: 404 - ERROR

    I have reinstalled and cleared my cache with no effect and therefore I assume that HTML files are handled differently in campaigns since the last update. If so, how can I fix this?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    I don't have a fix for this, though I'm also searching for one.

    Recently I've been working on some mods, and these mod-files won't even load.
     
  3. Darthbob555

    Darthbob555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    I've found out how to make the campaign files to load (except for the HTMl files) by adding:

    "startingLocation" : "subsection_main.firstScenario",
    "subsections": {
    "subsection_main": {
    "locations":
    {
    "firstScenario":
    {
    <scenario stuff in here>
    },
    },
    }

    If that helps you in anyway; I am still trying to sort out the HTML error but I think it is conflicting versions though a complete uninstall did not fix it.
     
  4. karost

    karost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    I moved all my projects from the beamng install directory to "C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\BeamNG.drive\vehicles"
     
  5. Occam's Razer

    Occam's Razer
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    859
    I'm trying to get the next update to Crash Junctions off the ground and I'm getting the exact same error. Making matters worse, I'm incorporating comics into the campaigns. So unless this gets fixed, my players will either have to play the campaign and miss the descriptions, or play the individual scenarios and miss the comics.
     
  6. RyvyLo

    RyvyLo
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    I have also had the same problem, but hopefully the text wasn't really important so I could just skip it.

    I however had an idea to fix this : bring the text and images on a mesh plane in the level (same as in the senseless destruction scenarios), and have it show just in front of the car during the scenario introduction, using the yourScenarioName_intro.prefab file that loads only on the intro of the scenarios, and setting the introType to "none" on the .json.

    This isn't the best solution, but at least it's something that could work...
     
  7. Darthbob555

    Darthbob555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    I was leaning towards that idea myself, but its a bit of a hassle to get it working and is a little cluttered to the player.

    I think the devs are converting scenarios over to the layout that the official campaigns use, as that code (see above) works fine. Unfortunately, there are several problems with the designed layout which make the text box really small and hard to read.
     
  8. Dogmatius

    Dogmatius
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Year old topic, I know, but I just ran into the same '404' problem when trying to update my old mod and couldn't find a clear answear anywhere. So I'm posting my solution here in hope that it might help someone else.

    In order to get HTML files working duing campaigns I just copied all HTML files from "\mod_name\levels\map_name\scenarios" into a new UI folder like this one "\mod_name\ui\levels\map_name\scenarios" for every different map in use. It doesn't seem to matter with any embedded pictures used, so you can just leave them be.

    Not entirely sure, but I think you need to have the HTML files in both locations for it to work properly if your mod is available in both campaign and scenario selector.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice