Changing engine oil amount

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by AdamB, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. AdamB

    AdamB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    531
    I think it would be cool if we could adjust how much oil we have in our engines (with a slider in-game like fuel).
    let's say I make a cool rally car config, but after driving it hard it says "oil overheating". Then i could add more oil to make it usable
    We could also simulate what happens when driving with no oil at all :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 7
  2. Evie Is Scared

    Evie Is Scared
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Good Idea! It would make driving beaters more fun :p
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Slammington

    Slammington
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,460
    Ironically, this would have the same effect as running the engine with no oil.
    If you add too much oil to the engine, the crankshaft will come into contact with the oil, and begin to "whisk" it, creating air pockets and bubbles. These bubbles, when passing through the oil pump, will cause interruptions in the oil flow, and potentially starve the engine of oil, causing it to overheat and seize completely :)

    Now that your car maintenance lesson is over, this is an awesome suggestion and I'd love to see it implemented :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    Please note that adding oil (or coolant for that matter) won't make the car overheat less.
    It's just more mass that needs to be heated so it takes slightly longer to reach the same temperatures.
    It might help with a specific stint, but does not magically lower the temps over prolonged periods.

    In any case, what you suggested is technically already possible, a modder could easily add a slider for the oil amount.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. AdamB

    AdamB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    531
    Never really thought about it that way! I may give it a go :)
     
  6. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    Please keep in mind that the oil stuff was never meant to realistically simulate what happens when you run the engine without oil. Its mass is only required for the thermals math.
    So setting it to very small masses might lead to rather interesting effects ;)
     
  7. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    239
    I once changed it to 0 and the car didn't start at all.
     
  8. Octothorp Obelus

    Octothorp Obelus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Must need more headlight fluid.

    OT: Wouldn't mind if engine ceasing was simulated :rolleyes:
    One would have fun trying to blow the hood off of a car when you finally throw a piston.
     
  9. AdamB

    AdamB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    531
    That's because the "oil" is immediately overheated and the engine seizes.
     
  10. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,779
    It's similar code to the fuel level correct? The variable ones you know sorry typing on phone not accurate
     
  11. AdamB

    AdamB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    531
    I believe so, just "integrated" into the mainEngine part
     
  12. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,779
    Maybe, I will let you tinker with it to get the core code working correctly but it would be a nice idea to see if it can be adjusted or not
     
  13. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    Yep, just like the fuel level is just a jbeam variable that affects an attribute in the "mainTank" (usually), you could do the same with "oilVolume" in the "mainEngine". :)
     
  14. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,779
    Code:
    "variables": [
            ["name", "type", "unit", "category", "default", "min", "max", "title", "description"]
            ["$fuel", "range", "L", "Engine", 90, 0, 90, "Fuel Volume", "Initial Fuel Volume", {"stepDis":0.5}]
    So thats the code there for the D-Series pickup truck, so we can alter that to effect the oil level

    Code:
            //cooling and oil system
            "thermalsEnabled":true,
            "engineBlockMaterial":"aluminum",
            "oilVolume":8,
    And thats the code for the Oil system there, so we would change the "oilVolume":8, to "oilVolume":$Oil, to make it adjustable or have I got that entirely wrong and I would accept assistance to get the code correct (n00By code editor here)
     
  15. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    Yep, you are definitely on the right track there :)
     
  16. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,779
    Okay if I am on the correct track with what I said there, what in the Variables section would need to be corrected since thats a fuel level variables, what would need to be changed to make that into an oil level variables and also if needed to coolant level variables
     
  17. NGAP NSO Shotgun Chuck

    NGAP NSO Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,412
    I must have gone waaaaaaay over the line with my RL car then, because it skipped the air bubbles and went straight to destroying the rings in at least three cylinders. Then a rod bent and, well, that's why I'm driving an Escort for now. This has to be at least the fifth stupidest thing I've ever done.
     
  18. Deleted member 160369

    Deleted member 160369
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    You set your volume variable to $Oil in your code, so the correspoding entry in the variable section would look more or less like this:

    Code:
    variables": [
    ["name", "type", "unit", "category", "default", "min", "max", "title", "description"]
    ["$Oil", "range", "L", "Engine", 8, 0, 8, "Oil Volume", "Initial Oil Volume", {"stepDis":0.5}]
    ]
    Assuming "8" is both max and default amount desired.

    :)
     
  19. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,779
    That "Range" thing may cause an issue but I will give it a go and see if it works or not

    UPDATE

    Okay I managed to get it to work but now for some reason its unable to be adjusted in the "Tuning" section I need to figure out why that is not able to be done currently, any suggestions?
    --- Post updated ---
    Any suggestions on how to get this thing to work correctly so you can adjust it in the Tuning section?
     
    #19 RobertGracie, Sep 20, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2017
  20. HDR

    HDR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    258
    Can you post your jbeam?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice