1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

Development Screens (Each post contains a picture OR contributing post)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LT. Smell My, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. Stubenhocker

    Stubenhocker
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Ouch, good tip, got to see many goodies already, thanks. (Amazing how much detail there actually is, didn't realise that. :O)
    Is it best to start from the ground up? Like only starting with the suspension and the frame?
     
  2. mtchll3

    mtchll3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    295
    yea, that's usually how beamng sets up cars, so the part-selecter etc, works properly
     
  3. Bisofication

    Bisofication
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    I'd love to see it ingame and everything but I think you have way too much nodes...
     
  4. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Rebuilt half the doors, Now to work on the rear interior seats. Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.25.11 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.23.50 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.31.56 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.17.41 AM.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. HadACoolName

    HadACoolName
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,877
    Im just curious, what are you doing exactly? Are you turning the GM into a small economy sedan or something?
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 11.35.11 AM.png
    Honestly I don't know I'm just really bored atm and though it would be a great idea to have a short sized like car thats part fullsize,
    Also Update
    Cut half of the back seat to make it seem like there is a little bit more space if you're feet doesn't fit behind the drivers/passengers seat. This project I'm doing is just for fun and may just make it into game, With the help of anybody who can do Jbeams.
    Read my signature to see my rigs spec's
     
    #6186 luckyman, Jan 7, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Atomix

    Atomix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,342

    the halfsize
    one of the first beamng mods ever
     
    • Like Like x 6
  8. HadACoolName

    HadACoolName
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,877
    I was just going to mention that :p
    screenshot_00109.png
     
  9. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    I totally forgot all about that mod... time to start new.
     
  10. ktheminecraftfan

    ktheminecraftfan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,103
    maybe instead of starting new you could make the rear doors like suicide doors. you would need to move the door handles though.
     
  11. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.54.43 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 11.35.11 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.48.14 AM.png Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.48.22 AM.png
    Best idea ever going to look into it though and try to make it possible, Model probably. Jbeam ways away for now.

    Update,
    Removed the little beam for the rear window.
    When I get home later, Upload to USB and start working on it on a desktop and start building and reworking the rear interior panel. They go through each other and its annoying, Not to add the roof does the same thing and I feel like its going to flatten one part while the rest is smooth, But ill attempt anyways. You'll never know until you try :D

    Also, Took off all the body except under parts. Seems everything fits at the moment.
     
    #6191 luckyman, Jan 8, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  12. jackh4x

    jackh4x
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Yikes, sounds like me when I was in grade 8.

    i think i just got cancer
     
    #6192 jackh4x, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2016
    • Like Like x 9
  13. Atomix

    Atomix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,342
    UVmapped and AObaked the whole car without the drivetrain today, also greatly refined the detail on the engine, added cooling system, distributor with spark plugs, redone intake...
    I feel proud today

    Screenshot - 09.01.2016 - 23:59:50.png
    Screenshot - 09.01.2016 - 23:58:34.png Screenshot - 09.01.2016 - 23:58:27.png
     
    • Like Like x 24
  14. Quotex

    Quotex
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    So i tried out modelling something in sketchup.

    screenshot_00005.png

    Not sure why the collisions are being ignored half of the time, could it have something to do with the width of the mesh/absence of materials, i followed the steps in the tutorial.

     
  15. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,404
    Probably the width, yeah. Materials have no effect on collisions.
     
  16. Quotex

    Quotex
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    I tried scaling the mesh to 2x, it still goes through it most of the time, could it be that it's because my sign is a shape, as the traffic signs in the vehicle selector have a Jbeam and they seem to work fine.
     
  17. D-Troxx

    D-Troxx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,313
    le rotary.
    rotary.jpg

    @Quotex
    you need to have a collision mesh.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  18. Quotex

    Quotex
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    I did set the collisiontype to Visible mesh like the tutorial showed, how would i manually assign and allign a collision mesh?
     
  19. D-Troxx

    D-Troxx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,313
    sorry dont have much experience with static models so i dont know :x. only knew that you need a collision mesh.
     
  20. Occam's Razer

    Occam's Razer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    I'm only familiar with how to do it from Blender, but I do know that the object should have the following hierarchy in T3D's object editor:

    Code:
    base00-
         CollisionMesh
         start01-
              VisualMesh

    The collision mesh will also need to be called 'colmesh' in editor (you can rename it in the object editor if need be) and be on LOD -2.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice