1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

WIP Beta released DH Super Gnat 0.99

The first, and the worst! Full mechanical swash plate helicopter

1. Darren9

Darren9
    Expand Collapse

#1 Darren9, Jul 28, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
    • Awesome Awesome x 31
    • Like Like x 5
  2. Stoat Muldoon

Stoat Muldoon
    Expand Collapse

Looks excellent, interested to see how you control the blade pitch. I tried something similar a while back with mediocre/terrible results. :) The dummy is a nice touch too :p

• Like Like x 1
  3. Darren9

Darren9
    Expand Collapse

Thanks, a good description could be a hydraulic system with cyclic/collective pitch mixing, I think, I'm not a helicopter expert, it just seems to work :)

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. CaptanW

CaptanW
    Expand Collapse

this looks great!

5. ┬┐Carbohydration?

┬┐Carbohydration?
    Expand Collapse

On as scale of 1-10, how hard is it to control?

6. Darren9

Darren9
    Expand Collapse

If a real helicopter is 10 then at the moment it's 7 or 8, there's no torque reaction from the rotor to the chassis so any action that adjusts the engine torque doesn't spin the tail around. That'll be added, but only as an option because 10/10 real helicopter is difficult :) It won't be possible to fly with a keyboard, I haven't added the option to set up keys, you need at least a gamepad with two sticks to have a chance.

• Like Like x 2
  7. Fuzzwad

Fuzzwad
    Expand Collapse

Will it be possible to set it up with RC Transmitters? (The ones for stuff like miniquads and RC, well, helicopters.) I'd love to use mine with this, but setting it up for other things proved to be difficult.

8. Darren9

Darren9
    Expand Collapse