1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

DX11 - Performance (post your issues here)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DrowsySam, Aug 13, 2015.

?

Have you seen an increase in performance since DX11 was implemented?

  1. Yes

    45.8%
  2. No, my FPS is worse

    20.8%
  3. Haven't noticed

    33.3%
  1. Günther

    Günther
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Sorry for being such a d...k
    My issue resolved its self, by using http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html and then reinstalling the display drivers.
    Anyone upgrading to Win 10, I'd highly recommend using the linked tool.
    Getting now a stunning 110-120 fps on grid map, great job on it! :)
     
  2. DevKryton

    DevKryton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    780ti SC
    i7 4770k
    16gb ram

    Fps nearly doubled for me on most maps, specially maps like east coast.

    On my laptop fps increase was only small, like 5-10fps more but on my pc the increased performance is incredible!
    Specially with multiple vehicles. Thanks!
     
  3. Tom999

    Tom999
    Expand Collapse
    Guest


    Same here!, We have the same CPU, but I'm running a GTX660TI, still earning its keep.
     
  4. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Did you build you're pc or what? Because u have amazing FPS while im running about 2-10 FPS on my Acer.

    My Spec's
    6.00GB installed ram. 5.80 usable,
    Processor Intel(R) Core (TM i5-3337 CPU @1.80GHZ
    windows 10 home
     
  5. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    Intel i7 3770k
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    8GB ram

    My FPS isn't bad but seems to be the same as the DX9 versions.
    I get around 60-75 fps at east coast and in some areas of the map like the town it drops to 45-50 fps.
    At JRI i get around 60 and in some areas drops to 40-50

    So the 60-75 fps areas are like half the map, the FPS changes a lot.
    I am really happy with the performance of the game right now, the only thing I would like is it to be more steady and not drop 30 fps in some areas.



    On East coast does your FPS drop a lot in areas like the town and some other areas of the map? Or is it steady everywhere?
     
  6. DevKryton

    DevKryton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Not noticeably. There is always a difference but it isn't huge. Maybe 5-10Fps.
     
  7. icytower387

    icytower387
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Guys you also have to know some cards were designed for dx9 or under so this may cause a drop in performance i suppose it's even completely incompatible with winXP so ya know try to look up your gpu specs before posting ;)

    now my post

    not noticeable increase until i updated gpu drivers
    i have gtx 960 4g and i5-4690k 8gb ram and win 8.1 x64
     
    #27 icytower387, Aug 17, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
  8. ThatGuyUJustSeen

    ThatGuyUJustSeen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    GTX 550ti
    i7 3770 cpu
    8gb ram

    On dx9 I could get 40-75fps with mid settings on all maps but now on dx11 I could not get past 20fps on the lowest settings and it had tons of stuttering.

    Load times are still the same as well as the sim speed, its just the framerate.
     
  9. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Any words from the developers on this?
     
  10. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Out of interest do you have any other DX11 software to try?

    Looking online, seems a few games have higher performance in DX9 rather than DX11 on the HD7850. War Thunder in particular takes a rather large FPS hit in DX11 versus 9 (still pulls over 100 though). Seems an unusual quirk if so though. Someone was also reporting issues in the witcher 2 under DX11, unusually low performance in DX11.

    Just wondering if you have more software to test with because details are somewhat scarce. Might shine some light on whether it is truly the games fault or yet another odd AMD driver quirk.
     
  11. icytower387

    icytower387
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Guys you should do a Dx9 and Dx11 benchmark to see if the problem is your gpu or Beamng.Drive :D it will help gabe so he doesent have to read as much comments, like a filter
     
  12. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    For example I have Assetto Corsa, Just Cause 2, Wreckfest, RIDE, Saints Row IV wich all use DX11 (except JC2 wich I think it's DX10), and no problems at all running at decent frame rates and high to highest quality settings.
    Project Cars was a huge dissapointment but at least with 1 to 5 cars it runs smoothly and with a lot of stuff on high (but that's a physx problem I believe).

    If this is another AMD related problem, well, I won't be taking any more chances the next time I upgrade my system and buy Nvidia again, always had Nvidia cards before.
     
  13. Spartacus

    Spartacus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Same here AdR, I have the same AMD video card. My system is about 5 years old. Time for a major upgrade. I'll put together a nice rig, I got money to burn! Ha! I'll take my time during my free time, too much work lately.
     
  14. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Might well be game issue then. Need dev feedback.

    Maybe Beam, warthunder and witcher are oddballs? I dunno.

    But yeah, #NvidiaMasterRace next time around eh?
     
  15. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    In places where my FPS was high I gained up to 20 FPS more. In places where it was low I have only gained 5 at most. Overall increase = .
    SLI seems to be working ok. Though sometimes My FPS seems to get stuck at around half what it is normally. On my Concrete carnage map I get 60-80 FPS but after going in and out of the map editor a few times It will sometimes get stuck around 30-40 FPS. It's like my two graphics cards have come out of sync and are sending frames at the same time instead of alternating between them. I get a bit of screen tearing while its doing it. Restarting Beam fixes it though.

    The only other thing is when in hood/bonnet view the Covet will disappear/flicker just before completing a loop.
    It was fine on the first release of the DX11 build, but after you released the invisible cars fix this was happening. (See Video)


    Also as others have mentioned the car is a bit sluggish to load when starting a map. Its kind of dark and semi transparent for a few seconds. After which it loads in just fine. :)

    Pc spec in my signature.
     
    #35 jammin2222, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2015
  16. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Clearly a game issue, otherwise all other DX11 games would run like crap on my card, and it isn't the case at all. But yeah, next time I won't take any chances with AMD.

    For me, it'll be time for a major upgrade once this thing blows up, or I decide to build another computer.
    I know it's old, but it's a tool, still works, and I still can get money out of it by doing 3D work :)
     
  17. AllzockerFIVE

    AllzockerFIVE
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Yes with gtx 780ti no problem !
     
  18. Kitty

    Kitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    I've gained quite a bit of fps, but now i am seeing microstutters. Doesn't happen to much but it does and makes it a bit hard to play at times. I have ran DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller) reinstalled the newest stable drivers. I've tried a few other version of drivers as well. Still seems to happen. This is with a HD6950 2gb you can see the rest of my specs in my sig.

    I'll attach a video it's not great but you can see what i mean.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXbtKtwuW8s
     
  19. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    I have this problem when running borderless fullscreen, going true fullscreen resolved it.

    Also, defrag your hard drive. It could be stuttering because it's loading all the assets from a slow hard drive.
     
  20. Kitty

    Kitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    It's installed on my ssd that shouldn't be the problem. I'll try the full screen thing here in a moment.


    ===edit===
    https://youtu.be/JrxzGECYh2w still having the problem this video shows it really well.
     
    #40 Kitty, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice