Electric Powertrain Devices

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by acynder, Jan 24, 2019.

1. acynder

acynder
    Expand Collapse

As an electrician, I know a few things about electricity, so I want to help to define the electric powertrain devices to the best of my abilities. First, the electromechanic devices:

Motors & Generators:
    The motors are a electromechanical machines that are built to the purpose to transform electric energy to cinetical one, that makes them a trasductor bettwen the electric devices and the mechanical ones. They are reversable, so they can produce electicity whit cinetical force. But whit lower performance. For motors, there are 3 types that are diferent enought to be diferent in game:
    DC-Series Motor (brushed): They are the most basic and old types of motors. They have a great low end torque but at high velocities they sufer from magnetic field rotation wich lowers performance and if they overev the colector sufers a lot of damange and destroys the motor in seconds.
    DC-Brushless/3-Phasic Syncronous Motor: They are the most recent and the most eficient type of electrical motors, also they double great as generators.They main downside is a lowend lack of response of the torque and the lack of high end performance.
    3-Phasic Asyncronous Motor: These are the top tier type of motors, they sacrifice a bit of eficiency in post of high end performance and instant response. Also these tolerate a relative overload whit ease.
    Also is important to note that these last 2 have a great tolerance to overreving, mostly limited by the bearings.

The generators are electromechanical machines that are built to the purpose to transform cynetical energy to electrical energy. For our intends and purposes they can be treated genericaly. Also they are bad motors.

Power Sources:
    Since generators have already been discussed. We will focus on the 2 left: