WIP Gavril D series NASCAR truck advice please

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by matty1080, Jul 7, 2017.

1. matty1080

matty1080
    Expand Collapse

upload_2017-7-7_22-11-58.png

I HAVE MADE A NEW THREAD FOR THIS PROJECT!

ALL UPDATES AND FURTHER DEVELOPMENTS ON THIS PROJECT WILL NOW BE POSTED HERE

so i have been playing beamNG for nearly 2 years now and have been amazed by some of the vehicles people have created and posted on the forums. but one thing that has never made it to the mods page is a NASCAR stock car of any kind. one of the main reasons NASCAR is such a popular series is because of the insane tumbles and multi-car pileups that are such a regular feature of the series. so it seams obvious that if you were going to make a NASCAR mod for any game it would be this one with its extremely powerful physics engine.
    i had played around with the model files of the game's cars before but this afternoon i decided to actually have a go at final making the car that me and im sure many others have wanted to see in this game for ages.

first i tried to modify the grand marshal body to be more like that of a stock car from that period but that proved too challenging particularly around the rear of the car.

so i decided to modify the Gavril D series to look like the cars that feature in the NASCAR truck series
    and im actualy quite happy with how it looks so far. (see attached files)
    i do have a number of questions though upload_2017-7-7_22-12-54.png upload_2017-7-7_22-11-58.png
    upload_2017-7-7_22-8-46.png
    i have never made a mod before. i have read about how Jbeam works using the resources on this site but have not yet put this knowledge into any form of practice. i am also i very amature modeler and the model does have one or two rough edges here and there.

things i want to know
    • once completed can this model be used?
    • how difficult is it to mod it into the game?