General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    My first AMD build is up and running. Specs:

    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X with stock cooler
    RAM: 32 GB 3000 MHz DDR4 (running in A-XMP mode)
    GPU: AMD Radeon R9 Fury X
    SSD: 2 TB Intel 660p NVMe, and Crucial MX100 512 GB SATA-III
    Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Edge WiFi
    PSU: Corsair RM850x (850W full-modular 80+ Gold)

    Now I just want to get a better cooler and upgrade the video card. An eventual upgrade to a 16-core is planned, but not any time soon.
     
  2. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,026
    Well, Epyc is even more Epyc now. If a sys admin needs cores and money is an object, Epyc. If they need cores and money is no object, meaning power consumption is, Epyc. If they need a dual socket Xeon system, single socket Epyc. Intel has completely lost in the server space. They've lost in the enthusiast and gaming spaces. They're losing in mobile. Intel won't die from this, they have their fingers in too many pies, but they will lose market share.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    Just saw the new EPYC. 64 cores. SIXTYFOUR.
     
  4. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    Oh and if you can't afford the Epyc but still need ECC RAM... Ryzen. Normally, I would not think of a desktop CPU being a good server CPU, but most if not all the Ryzens support ECC, and have great multi-thread performance. These CPUs also do a pretty good job of automatic voltage regulation and keeping temps in check. Then there's the L3 cache... my Ryzen 7 has 32 MB of L3 cache. On a $320 CPU, that is just insane.
     
  5. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,026
    Zen is a server architecture. Ryzen is just as viable for servers as Epyc, and substantially more than Intel Core chips.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    Well more so, Epyc is literally just using stock ryzen desktop dies
     
  7. vmlinuz

    vmlinuz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,562
    Welp, Newegg is now price-gouging the shit out of the 3900X. Good thing I got one from Micro Center at MSRP - Newegg's charging $300 extra. If you can find one at a brick-and-mortar store, that's the way to go.
     
  8. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,499
    So i got a new phone contract the only special thing about is that i now have a Note 10 plus cant wait for it to arrive!
     
  9. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    The USB port clogs up and gets damaged pretty easily on the Note 8, and the Note 10 doesn't look like it'll be any different. Find a way to protect that port.
     
  10. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,499
    Thanks never had a phone that didnt have that but how could i cover that up cause no case does cover it?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    A Otter-ish case could do the trick (A beefy case with "covers" for said ports)
    --------------------------
    So, my PC (a.k.a Old SH*Tbox) is getting VERY hot. I just turned it on and the proccesor was at 96° celsius.
    Anything I can do, fellas? I'm not sure how it didn't explode/melt a hole in the Motherboard and Case/become a nuclear warhead
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Replace the thermal paste maybe?? Or make sure the CPU fan/AIO actually works/isn't 100% dust, though, I don't see how any CPU can get to 96c just from bootup, unless it just didn't have a cooler on atall
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    I cleaned it recently. Cleaned the CPU Cooler and a case fan (that was FULL of dust). Can you recommend me a good software to check what actually the temp is? Because I think the marker in getting temp readouts from (IOBit Advanced SytemCare 12) is a bit dodgy. I still assume it's very hot, and thermal paste is hard for me:
    • It's relatively hard to find
    • Techs will ask for a lot of money
    • I don't have the help I need from my father (Who doesn't give a flying shit about what happens to my computer)
     
  14. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Changing thermal paste isn't so difficult to do yourself, though, I understand not doing it if you're not comfy too, since it can get expensive if something goes wrong

    I don't know if it's the best software for it, but I guess one called HWMonitor would work (If you google that, it's the first one by CPUID)
    It has a bunch of info, but it shouldn't be so difficult to work out which is the CPU temperature
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Cool Username

    Cool Username
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Hey guys, first post in a while. I stopped playing beamng when my laptop died and now I think I want to get back into gaming.

    Building a computer, do you guys think that an AMD ryzen 5 3600 is worth it over a ryzen 5 2600? I've got a pretty tight budget. I know beamng is cpu intensive but would the little extra be worth it? While its gotta be a budget build, I do want something that will last for at least all 4 years of college

    also i don't really have a problem with playing medium settings, my laptop only ran beamng on low (only when I froze a block of granite and put it under for cooling) and barely ran csgo at the end of its life
     
  16. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT video card has been installed.
    The Ryzen 3000 series would provide a bit more future proofing, and is better for gaming in general due to better single-thread performance. It also supports PCIe 4.0, and higher memory speeds. So yes, I'd say its worth it as long as you get an X570 chipset motherboard to get the most from Zen 2.

    I am running a Ryzen 7 3700X right now and I can tell you that the Ryzen 3000 series architecture is amazing.
     
  17. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,671
    Depends what you are looking for really. There are some big discounts on Ryzen 2000 series processors (that bring them inline regarding "price to performance"). So take a look at benchmarks, see what results each processor gets and compare pricing.

    For example:
    upload_2019-10-19_13-51-29.png
    upload_2019-10-19_13-40-47.png
    upload_2019-10-19_13-41-6.png
    The Ryzen 5 3600 should be faster in games due to its higher single threaded performance. But if multithreaded performance is more important, the R7 2700x is a better processor to get. So you need to figure out what compromise is best for you.

    I don't see any reason to care about PCIe 4.0. PCIe hasn't been a bottleneck for the majority of systems in a very long time. Even 2.0 is quick enough for most systems.
     
  18. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    owo
    I just got one too not so long ago because I'm great at impulsively wasting all my money ><
    Aside from having to install the drivers twice, and seemingly only getting display from the iGPU every other boot (though, I might've fixed that, I hope), it's great! Much better than my old GTX 960, lol
     
  19. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    I only had to install drivers once, and never had any issues with iGPU because I use a Ryzen 7 3700X which doesn't use one. Have you tried disabling the iGPU in BIOS, or manually setting primary GPU in BIOS (if it offers that option)?
     
  20. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    I would do that, but I use the iGPU for my second monitor (a habit so I could actually watch something while playing a game on my old GPU, and to get around issues Windows sometimes creates when they're connected to the same GPU)
    I might oneday try with just one GPU, but for now restarting the computer until it works is fine ^^;
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice