General discussion

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by Car crusher, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. Sando

    Sando
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Any link?
     
  2. CaffeinatedPixels

    CaffeinatedPixels
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    iRacing and NR2003 are your only options. iRacing it's online only but has fantastic physics and car/track choice, NR2003 is singleplayer with GREAT AI and a modding community but it's 2003 so yeah.

    Also I found the culprit of my PC problems. Shit just got real.
     
  3. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    No, they worked a few hours ago.
     
  4. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    All I see is a huge amount of dirt.

    That goop stuff? Thats glue and added during manufacture to dampen the vibrations of the inductors and hence eliminate coil whine.

    Either that or images arent clear enough and I'm missing the point, I see what looks like scorching in final image, but that could just be more dirt, or the dirt in the other images was the remains of something that exploded in which case your PSU shouldnt be working at all.
     
  5. CaffeinatedPixels

    CaffeinatedPixels
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    I'm pretty sure the blue capacitors shouldn't be covered in that "goop" and cracked. That is certainly not dust on the case either.
     
  6. medion

    medion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    started my first day in college, bought a pen off one of my classamates for a few tic-tacs.















    the french have a way with bribery
     
  7. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    I dont see any cracks in the capacitors and yes they should be covered in it. Its an epoxy type compound. Capacitors do change volume slightly during charge and discharge, due the the rapidly changing charge level they accordingly vibrate in a power supply.

    A burst capacitor doesnt simply crack anyway. They do literally ooze their electrolyte across the PCB, you tend to find they literally burst open.


    Literally all I am seeing here is dirt.
     
  8. CaffeinatedPixels

    CaffeinatedPixels
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Either way I'm going to play it safe and get a new PSU. I still need to rearrange my cables and figure out how to help cool my GPU.
     
  9. ktheminecraftfan

    ktheminecraftfan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,103
    My life has been a mess lately as I lost my grandfather yesterday and my brother was diagnosed with leukaemia.
     
  10. JackAttak

    JackAttak
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    I'm sorry. That's pretty terrible. Hope things improve.
     
  11. HockeySnipe16

    HockeySnipe16
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    277

    Super sorry to hear that man. I hope things get better for you soon D:
     
  12. Wheelie

    Wheelie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    270
    Looks like my local library has stepped up their game in the ethernet speeds department...

    library wifi.jpg
     
  13. Koenigsegg

    Koenigsegg
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    So which is better in physics?I heard the crashes were unrealistic in iracing but it looked ok to me in the vids
     
  14. ktheminecraftfan

    ktheminecraftfan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,103
    so your favorite videos will download faster now (I was going to say porn but I already got an infraction)
     
  15. Wheelie

    Wheelie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    270
    that actually brings up a fair point- nothing anybody would do on a crappy library computer would require speeds that fast... the wifi speeds are regulated to 20/20, so it's only on the reservable computers
     
  16. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Well, in my school, the wifi is also rather slow compared to the Ethernet speeds. I was getting about 15/3 on WiFi and 250/200 on Ethernet. I don't know how that happens.
     
  17. CaffeinatedPixels

    CaffeinatedPixels
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Pick your poison.





    iRacing you get near-realistic handling but as soon as you get into the wall you're in for a long ride.

    NR2003 you get realistic crashing (blowovers and stuff) but the tire model is nowhere near as advanced.

    Also I got a new PSU (Corsair CX850M) - so far it works, tomorrow I'm going to get all of the cables in a non-cluttered spot and clean the fans and I'll hopefully be set!
     
    #19837 CaffeinatedPixels, Sep 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2015
  18. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    I long for the day when my dad finally understands that I'm an awkward introvert who'll never amount to anything because I'm a colossal loser.

    I suck so much that I can't even make a decent mod for BeamNG. Who the hell wants engine jbeams? Nobody. That's who.

    I couldn't be anymore done with life even if I tried, I don't want to even finish out this sad an miserable existence I've made for myself.

    Anyways, anyone need me to jbeam an engine and transmission? I need something to do tomorrow to take my mind off of life for a while.
     
  19. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,632
    Engines and transmissions are the one thing I can't do :p

    - - - Updated - - -

    Holy hell, that second video is hilarious XD
     
  20. Koenigsegg

    Koenigsegg
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    ah so iracing use same source code as nr2003 (glitch must of been in source code).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice