1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gpu bottleneck? 660 ti & i5 2500k.

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Sparks4, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    So i set up a new desktop using my old motherboard, cpu / ram setup i was using in my main before i upgraded my main. (Specs at the bottom)

    The gpu is the problem (i think..) which is limiting my cpu. As in killing floor 2 and beamng my cpu never passes 50% - 60% usage in beamng or kf2. The cpu isn't even hitting 40% usage while its at its max frequency of 4.4ghz. On the other side, the gpu is constantly pegged out at 99% usage and is hitting temps of 65c and 70c. Cpu stays very cool in the high 50s and sometimes will hit 60c for a second or so.

    I highly doubt its the cpu limiting anything as like I said, I was using this in my main before, with a 960 and I had way higher fps. And this is without a overclock on the cpu. In beamng I had 90+fps a year ago in my main, and now it struggles to hit 50-60fps with the 660.
    So im not sure if the 660 is bottlenecking the cpu, but the performance from a year ago from my main leads me to think it is bottlenecking my cpu. I'm just not 100% sure yet. I did try overclocking the 660 through msi afterburner but anything past 30+ on the core will just straight crash any game I try to play.

    In gta5 on the new pc with the 2500k and the troublesome 660, i get a solid 30 frames, with a really nice graphics mod on ultra settings (vsync is not on). No texture pop outs or anything. Cpu hangs around at 50% usage and 60% usage... Never really spikes up to the max. But is always on its max frequency. Gpu is at its max usage. And temps are fine. Is the 660 limiting the cpu?

    Fps with the 2500k and the 660 ti (current date)
    Beamng: Depends on the map, average is around 45-55
    Gta5: 25-30fps
    Csgo: not tested
    kf2: 62fps and does not budge
    RS2: 45-55fps
    My Summer Car: 50-60fps

    A year ago with the 2500k and the 960.... With the stock 3.3frequency (2014 to early 2015)
    Beamng: 90+fps
    Gta5: 50 to high 60s
    Csgo: 350+
    My summer car: 90fps
    bf4: 75-90fps
    bf3: Cant remember exactly but 100+

    Here are the specs of my "newish" pc:

    Mobo: ASROCK Z28 Extreme 3 Gen 3
    CPU: I5 2500k @4.4ghz overclocked
    GPU: EVGA 660TI 2gb
    RAM: 2 Sticks of 4 ddr3 1833mhz (mushkin ram)
    PSU: 600watt

    My main pc specs:

    CPU: I5 7500 (-2500k is faster btw.. i chose the wrong cpu)
    GPU: Msi gtx 970 Gaming edition 4gb
    Ram: 16gigs of 2133 DDR4 memory (2 sticks of 8)
    PSU: 650watt
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Glitchy

    Glitchy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    714
    Press J, if the lag completely stops, It is a CPU issue, if it doesn't stop after pressing J, it is probably a CPU problem.
     
  3. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    beamng - Hmm. It doesn't stop, fps doesn't shoot up and stays bellow 60fps. Cpu usage doesn't spike either. gpu doesn't go lower than 100% usage. The 2500k in my opinion is still a really good cpu. Its better than my current cpu which i have the kaby lake i5 7500 in my main lmao. I believe its the gpu holding the sandy bridge i5 back.... Because the cpu isn't maxed out because it has nothing to do, the gpu needs to catch up.. In a benchmark the cpu left everything in the dust.. it was with the high end i7s & i5s. The cpu alone was rated an 85/100 for gaming.
     
  4. Glitchy

    Glitchy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    714
    Hmm.. I believe it is your GPU then.. If you need an upgrade, I suggest a 1050ti, or a 1050 would be fine. The 1050 only costs about $100, while the 1050ti costs $150.
     
  5. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Well it might be a hundred for you, but for me its $50-80 more as im in canada lmao. And the prices for pc parts is really expensive.. I want to get better ram for my main, preferably 3200mhz of 16gig.. But that alone is near 300$. Add on a 1060 or 1070 im looking near 600 700$ for that.. 1060 is cheaper (in terms of performance and more vram), so i might consider in the future when theres sales... If i do get a better gpu, then ill just swap my 970 over to the one with the 2500k... Looking at the prices for the 960s are pretty expensive..

    1060 looks decent for 270$ than the 960 which is 300-400+
    https://www.amazon.ca/ASUS-GeForce-Dual-Fan-Graphics-DUAL-GTX1060-O3G/dp/B01KMVHB6M

    If there's cheaper options id like to know if possible... I prefer not to spend much over 100 150 if i get a older but more recent than the 660.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Nissan Skyline

    Nissan Skyline
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    1050 is slower than a 660ti, a 1050 ti is only 8% faster.
     
  7. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Here is a physics benchmark, one from my main pc (i5 7500) and one from the on with the 2500k.
    Theres a massive difference in performance. So the 660ti must be bottle necking the 2500k. The screen is junk on the 2500k.... Old monitor in 2k res that i had laying around.. Almost double the performance than the 7500.. Which isn't a year old yet, vs an 6 year old chip...
    20171115_220525_HDR.jpg mainpc.png
     
  8. Nissan Skyline

    Nissan Skyline
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    Something is wrong with your 7500 system. Try doing a bios update or updating chipset drivers, it should in no way be so much worse than the 2500k. Also check the thermals, it might be thermal throttling.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Just turned on turbo because it was off on the 7500... And that actually lowered the score on the benchmark which is a little strange... Before it was running at 3.4ghz, now it runs at 3.6. I also overclocked the 2500k further, now it runs at 4.7ghz.
    test.png
     
  10. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    It running worse is alittle weird. It might not be possible, but if you're able too, putting it on another motherboard in another system and seeing if it acts the same there would help. Or you could try reseating it and reapplying thermal paste? I doubt it'll do anything, but you never know...
     
  11. Nissan Skyline

    Nissan Skyline
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    The 2500k at 4.7 should be faster than the 7500, just not that much faster. Is a core turned off on the 7500 or something?
     
  12. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    All 4 cores are on
     
  13. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    On your 7500 PC, what PSU do you have? I know you say 650W, but specifically what Make/Model is it?
     
  14. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Corsair TX650M
     
  15. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    If only I knew more about PSU's...
    Some things I looked up abit ago mentioned something about rails, 12V and what not, and to check that they were supplying the right currents constantly or something. I guess it's a long shot (not helped by my lack of knowledge on them) but I don't see much else that could be affecting the speed of that CPU. Unless it's just bad motherboard or CPU. Which would suck...
     
  16. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Well i know i made a huge mistake getting the 7500... I just didn't have that much money at the time when i upgraded, 7500 was around 200 bucks seemed liked a good deal at the time... I got the cpu last year, i should've gotten the k variant.. Next cpu i get will be ryzen for my main... Black Friday is coming up so if the sales are decent, i might pick another one up or an i7... Not sure yet. Keeping the 2500k however... I really like that ancient cpu :D Still need to figure out a gpu solution for the 2500k... 660ti ain't cutting it..
     
  17. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    6GB 1060? I don't think it'll be considered overpowered for it, since it's still a pretty good CPU. Especially when you consider it's age. Either that, or you decide to get a better CPU for your main and 1060 that, and put the 970 in your 2500 build
     
  18. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Yeah i might pick up the 1060 if prices are good, and ill put the 970 in the 2500k one... The 1060 is similar to the 970 anyways.. I have the msi gtx 970 gaming 4g version.
    __________
    Edit

    And also i have an question.. Im running the 2500k @1.44volts at the vcore... I can't seem to make it go any lower as then ill just get a BSOD error usually being (clock watchdog time out) or (WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR) If i enable fixed voltages it wont post, pc reboots itself multiple times then i can get into bios. I have to have pll overvoltage on 1.347 i think in order for it to boot and be stable @4.7ghz... Right now when im typing this temps at at 70-75c. I have firefox open 3 tabs and beamng running in the back ground on the utah map. I have vcore on offset mode, at +90 i think. I'm not 100% sure.
     
  19. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Eh, I don't know anything about overclocking really (like, atall. I tried it once and I have no hope...), but is 1.44 alittle high? What sorta temps do you get at idle, and after running something like Prime95 for awhile? Also, I have no idea what a pll overvoltage or what a vcore is... If I were OCing my CPU, I probably wouldn't have anything that puts the temp over 85*, but that's an AMD FX chip. They're basically designed to be hot.
    I would probably just run Prime95 for 10-15 mins to see what it gets too while at constant high load. I mean, if the temps too high, it should be fine, right? I've read on the internet quick that the 2500k is pretty much okay aslong as it's under 1.45 or 1.50 or something. I mean, you could always do something like 4.5GHz if the temps are bad. atleast while you have the weaker GPU. Then you can maybe get a better cooler?
     
  20. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    20171118_203332_HDR.jpg Capture.png

    Ah well no worries man, one of my first times ocing as well :D, well in terms of cpus its my first... gpus ive overclocked multiple times... the 2500k is pretty easy to overclock, 4.5 ghz without and voltage increments is good. However since i want to go 4.7ghz, i had to give it more voltage. I can run prime 95, but it'll crash after a bit. Gaming is fine however no crashes during gaming. i have a cooler master hyper 212 i think. Right now i just closed beamng temps on idle with firefox, steam (downloading something) and file explorer explorer open its around 45-50c.