1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.25 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Graphics options reset after each update

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by blackhole522, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. blackhole522

    blackhole522
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Every time I run the updater, the previously saved graphics options reset (to default I guess). It's not a really a big deal but it's a bug I guess.

    Maybe I'm the only one?
     
  2. pivotman

    pivotman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    If you read the list of known bugs, you would have seen that one of them is graphics settings not saving..

    :I
     
  3. pulley999

    pulley999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    If you read the post, you would have seen that this is a slightly different problem from the one in the list of known bugs..

    :I

    The bug which your talking about is that because GFX settings don't save until the end of a session they get lost if the game CTD's. A completely different problem.

    The problem is that the updater compares the local graphics settings file to its master, and when it sees they are different it overwrites the existing local settings file with its master, thus resetting all the settings. The same thing happens to customized inputmaps. A simple fix to keep the updater from overwriting the graphics settings would be just not to include it in the master that it pushes out to the clients (provided the GFX setting file is extracted from the install EXE, and not retrieved from the mandatory update that gets the game exe at the end of the install) as it seems that the updater won't touch files that aren't contained in the master, like mods.
     
    #3 pulley999, Aug 18, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  4. TheAdmiester

    TheAdmiester
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    No, it's still a known bug. The updater works by checking if any files have been modified (how it does that I'm not sure, maybe comparing MD5s?) and replacing them with the latest copy. If the latest copy of the graphics config file doesn't match the one on your machine, which it won't due to you changing settings, it'll get replaced with the default settings.
     
  5. blackhole522

    blackhole522
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Alright. Didn't think the updater would check the graphics config file as well. Thanks.
     
  6. Phoenixx

    Phoenixx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    In the short term you could make the config config file read only, that way it wouldn't get overwritten in the update.
     
  7. pulley999

    pulley999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Also, the problem could be fixed server-side if they just don't include the options file in the master copy that the updater distributes out to the clients. It won't touch files unless they are included in the master.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice