1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?
  2. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Released GTA 3 Liberty City 1.1

Discussion in 'Terrains, Levels, Maps' started by swift502, Jun 14, 2019.

  1. kongfeh

    kongfeh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    That's the best news of the day! I am looking forward to it! Thank you!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. DAYTONAAAAA

    DAYTONAAAAA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Aw, man! You had to release it on the day I'll be leaving the country :p
    Can't wait to try it when I get back!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94


    0.94 Released!



    Changelog:
    • AI paths across the entire map
      • After the traffic update, cars don't seem to take turns when they don't have to. From my experience, 10 out of 10 times, cars go straight on a crossroad, they never take turns unless they have to. It wasn't like this with the unofficial mod. So I don't know what to do. If someone knows how to fix this, please let me know.
      • If the paths are wrong somewhere, please let me know.
    In other news, I began work on extending the DragonFF map importer. Once finished, it will be able to import all III, VC, SA, LCS and the VCS map, and anyone will be able to import any map they want into BeamNG.
     
    #203 swift502, Aug 26, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
    • Like Like x 7
  4. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Imported dirt track from Liberty City Stories...



    One of the few modifications I deem reasonable, considering there's just an unused grass plane in the GTA 3 version. The dirt track seems a lot more fun.

    I wonder if it was meant to be in GTA 3 originally but just had to be cut because of time constraints or something.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  5. LegoMarcusR

    LegoMarcusR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    you should do GTAV in the future :p
    that would be epic

    In the meantime, this map is fantastic. I play on it every day and love every minute of it! Keep up the amazing work!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. disloyalpick

    disloyalpick
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    I actually second the gtav suggestion lol
     
  7. Honest Nick

    Honest Nick
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    I'll waiting for LCS Little Italia
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Ghost town and interiors are done, and I added sound reverb to tunnels.
    Still a couple of small fixes, that nobody except me cares about, but then finally full release. :D

    I'm also working on reducing the total number of materials used in the map.
    upload_2019-9-1_0-28-23.png
    Rockstar categorized materials by map sections, not used textures. So you can have many materials using the same textures.
    I'm not all the way there yet, but it looks promising. If it works, it should dramatically reduce the draw calls (increasing performance) and hopefully reduce memory consupmtion.
    Again, nobody probably cares at this point, but I'm having fun.

    I hope the map doesn't get taken down before I finish it though.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  9. Blood-PawWerewolf

    Blood-PawWerewolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    413
    Rockstar pretty much doesn’t care about the 3D era games. It’s more of the HD era games, especially GTA IV Liberty City that T2 would really send out their “goons” to ya.

    Take the OpenIV fiasco from the summer of 2017 for example.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. zakappowany

    zakappowany
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    What about a car importer from the other games?
     
  11. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    o_O

    no idea... I've never worked on anything like that and never planned to.
     
  12. Driv3r1142

    Driv3r1142
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,914

    I've gotten cars out of the 3D era games quite easily, there's already tools for that... The problem with this is making them usable as a BeamNG.drive flexbody... The models themselves are extremely low poly;

    .png
    GTA Vice City Oceanic

    And not to mention the horrible poly flow.


    I tried editing the model and ended up modeling a whole new car from scratch;

    .png .png
    (No this isn't going to be public, it didn't work out.)

    You could in theory just JBeam them the way they are, but most people are expecting detailed and decent quality crashes, something these models aren't going to be capable of providing.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,419
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. DAYTONAAAAA

    DAYTONAAAAA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Ooo
    Now this is interesting...!
    Prepare to see a job offer from BeamNG some time soon, heheh.
    Something to port RoR maps to BeamNG is likely a feature to add in their To-Do list!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94


    Full release!


    Changelog:
    • imported all cutscene interiors, including ghost town
    20190904234040_1.jpg 20190904234306_1.jpg 20190904234335_1.jpg
    • imported dirt track from Liberty City Stories
    20190904234236_1.jpg
    • added reverb audio effect to tunnels
    • opened up Cocks' stadium and Joey's garage
    • fixed countless texture, collision and model glitches
    • merged 2594 duplicate materials, reducing draw calls and improving performance
    I encourage everyone to update to this version.
    Thanks again to @Spython, @loba04, @Confused_Deer43 and @DAYTONAAAAA for their help and support.There were a few hurdles along the way, but in the end this is a dream coming true for me, and after 3 months of hard work I'm very happy with how the map looks and performs. There might be additional updates fixing smaller issues, but I did my best to polish what was worth polishing, and I'm moving on the finish the map importer, so that hopefully in the near future, we also get Vice City, and maybe even San Andreas.
    --- Post updated ---
    Btw @DankMemeBunny I hope I redeemed myself by now.
     
    #215 swift502, Sep 5, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2019
    • Like Like x 17
  16. mikecycle

    mikecycle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Hey mate, got an issue with the latest update.

    95% of the world has no textures at all, I was using LC91 version and it worked perfect, deleted that file and replaced with the current Libertycity.zip and now have the issue,

    Any ideas?

    PS: screenshot attached
     

    Attached Files:

    • beamngnomaterial.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Hmm. Those orange materials are duplicates, which I merged in the latest update. You can see how many redundant materials there were.
    Maybe try deleting your cache? I'll do the same once I get home to see if the problem is on my side. If it's the cache it kinda sucks.

    I believe I'm using the same zip and everything is fine for me though.
     
    #217 swift502, Sep 9, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019
  18. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    @mikecycle I just tried it and it works ok for me.

    Try deleting all the C:\Users\Username\Documents\BeamNG.drive\cache.x.x.x.x folders and restarting the game.
     
  19. mikecycle

    mikecycle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    @swift502 Yep deleted cache and all good.

    Thanks mate, noob question haha
     
  20. swift502

    swift502
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Well I don't expect anyone to regularly clear their cache :D
    I guess it's just another strange thing about the Torque engine. Automatically cache half the map's assets just to confuse us.
     
    #220 swift502, Sep 16, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice