How to dirty fix "no texture" issue for maps that used removed textures?

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by G-Farce, Aug 20, 2021.

  1. G-Farce

    G-Farce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Questions.

    1. Couldn't you just find the name of the texture add it into a commons folder in my docs and it'll work
    2. couldn't you just rewrite the materials file to use different textures
    3. The world editor can't fix some maps, so it's better to just find textures and place them in the mod or in some folder where it can be accessed
    How do you do some of this? like finding the name and target directory of textures?
    any help is appreciated to doing these steps. I imagine you could make a texture in paint and put it where it's supposed to be and in 5 mins you'll have eliminated all future "no texture" annoyances for that map since it'll reference the original filename and think it'll have found the original texture.

    I also recall some mod that added back some textures from previous maps so that other mod maps could work fine. Does one exist?
     
    #1 G-Farce, Aug 20, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2021
  2. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,101
    This is related to an issue that I don't really get. A well made map is supposed to work on copies of textures placed in its own folder to avoid issues with updates removing the textures. But at the same time copying all the assets increases the map's file size so much that it goes over the file size limit and can't be approved. This makes no sense. Everyone is just stuck with having to either make a tiny map with not many assets, or a map that reuses vanilla textures and will definitely break in the next update.
    And to answer your question, it's not as easy as making a random texture in Paint, it needs to be the correct size (which you have no idea what the original was) and then converted to DDS format.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. G-Farce

    G-Farce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    THis is a valid point. I've seen a few maps on the repo in the GB range, which I found weird. Wonder how they did that?
    But yeah if the mapmaker wants to future proof he should definetly include the textures in his upload or only use his own.

    As for the not knowing what texture to use because of unkown resolution size etc... To me anything is better than the ORANGE with BLACK "NO TEXTURE" seen in some parts of the map. I just want to hide that so it don't distract my driving lol. Don't particularly mind if the texture is stretched on the wrong way or sizing. lol. I might end up digging in the game files finding whatever is that image, maybe "NO TEXTURE.dds" and replacing that with like a dark green if all else fails.
     
  4. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,101
    I mean it will still show no texture if the size or format is wrong.
     
  5. geobeck

    geobeck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    There has to be some way to implement a "common" folder tree in the mods folder--something that will help modders maintain a common library that doesn't break when the core common files change.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice