1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

How to fix black screen when map is loaded? (Fixed)

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by StuckAuto123443, Jul 12, 2019.

  1. StuckAuto123443

    StuckAuto123443
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Starting a few days ago, my game developed a problem. It would load, I'd select a map, it'd load the map but then the screen will go black and all I see is the speedometer but nothing else. Other than the speedometer in the corner, the entire screen would go black making me unable to see the car, map, anything! I tried removing all my mods, clearing cache and all that, and even re-installed the game multiple times. Nothing is working and although I have yet to look into the help section, anyone know how to fix this? 20190711233749_1.jpg 20190711233912_1.jpg ID code It give me: 55799
     
    #1 StuckAuto123443, Jul 12, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,152
    Happens on any level?

    Replicate the issue and give me a Support ID so that I can check your game logs:
    Support ID
     
  3. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,152
    Your game logs does not contain any more detailed information unfortunately.

    Try these:

    • Check in Safe Mode.
    If in Safe Mode it works fine, then follow these steps:
    1. Launch the game in Safe Mode
    2. Go to Options > Graphics
    3. Find the 'Hardware Acceleration for User Interface' setting
    4. If it's already OFF, first turn it ON and then OFF again. If it's already ON, then just turn it OFF.
    5. Close the game, and start it again in Normal mode, and check if the issue is gone
    This is an experimental setting, and could not work fine on some hardware/software setups.
    On the unexpected behavior is black screens as you are getting.
    Safe Mode automatically turns that setting off (temporarily)​


    • If you use ReShade or any similar modifications:
    You must either turn off that setting mentioned above, as it's incompatible with those.
    Or remove those modifications entirely (may require a Clean Install of the game​
     
  4. StuckAuto123443

    StuckAuto123443
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I used to use ReShade and other lighting mods, so incase any files were still lingering I did a clean install and it did the trick. Game is running normal once again, thank you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice