Importing COLLADA from Cinema4D - Model works, collision doesn't.

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by DasFroDo, Jul 10, 2014.

1. DasFroDo

DasFroDo
    Expand Collapse

Hello Guys!

So as I've been working with 3D-Software for a couple of years I thought: Why not create my own Stunttrack? However, the engine seems to hate me. I've tried a thousand ways to get imported collision to work, but it just doesn't. I'm using Cinema4D and I've found NOTHING about the topic on google. Is there any tutorial explaining step by step how to import a model + collision into the engine, maybe even for Cinema4D? I fear the engine doesn't like the COLLADA's Cinema4D exports...

I've found a video on YouTube where a guy uses the shapeeditor to create the collision. I've followed that tutorial and the mesh does indeed appear as pink outline around the mesh. However, the car just doesn't collide with it. When I go back into the shapeeditor after testing and I click on the mesh I'm asked if I want to save my changes EVERY SINGLE TIME. It's like the engine is not able to save the files. Or am I doing something completely wrong?

Also: If I use "visible mesh" as collision the car ignores it or there is just no collision at all, I don't know.

I hope you guys can help me, I want to wreck cars on my own track :(

[EDIT] This is the tutorial: http://www.beamng.com/threads/7216-...ollision-meshes-(not-visible-mesh-collisions)

#1 DasFroDo, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  2. ItaliAsian

ItaliAsian
    Expand Collapse

3. DasFroDo

DasFroDo
    Expand Collapse

Thanks for the reply!

So basically I have to:

• Model it in Cinema4D
    • Export as COLLADA
    • Import into Blender as COLLADA
    • Clear Location, Scale and Rotation in Blender
    • Export as COLLADA
    • Import into the engine

right?

4. ItaliAsian

ItaliAsian
    Expand Collapse