Cancelled Long Desert Road

Discussion in 'Terrains, Levels, Maps' started by jackeo21, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    #1 jackeo21, Sep 30, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013
  2. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    Hey Jackeo,

    Your map isn't working for me. There are about 10 errors while loading it, once it loads there is no terrain or textures, I'm just driving on water.
     
  3. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Thats not good. Ill see what I can do. Could you tell me a few of the errors? I had similar problems with akron speedway!
     
  4. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    Sure thing, figured screenshots would be easiest. hope these errors help out.
    Screenshot (49).png
    Screenshot (50).png
    Screenshot (51).png
    Screenshot (52).png
    Screenshot (53).png
    Screenshot (54).png
     
  5. Kimmykix

    Kimmykix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    You are using objects and heightmaps in your map that aren't in the map folder, so its throwing up a bunch of errors.
     
  6. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Would you be able to tell me how to fix that? I'm not very skilled at the moment!

    Thanks
     
  7. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    Any luck on fixing the textures problems?
     
  8. FastestClassic

    FastestClassic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Make sure all the texture files you're using are in the folder of your map, and assign those textures to the different parts on the map. That should fix it...;)
     
  9. Holland

    Holland
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    982
    You need some trees man. And real grass. Btw, very good work!;)
     
  10. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    So it works for you?, btw thanks heaps

    - - - Updated - - -

    Could you please tell me how to do that, or send me a screenshot of what the folder should look like?

    Thanks
     
  11. Confused_Deer43

    Confused_Deer43
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Hey I tried this map out too, although I got the same problem as the other person here, I spawn with no map textures :p

    I think it could be due to ATI graphic cards, iv'e seen lots of people complain about textures not working on community maps due to that,
    and it could be from using textures not used on the games maps? i'm not sure, but anyway, as I can see from the screens;
    this map looks fun!
     
  12. e345spd

    e345spd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    No...It's simply due to incorrect directory structure underneath the main map file, it has nothing at all to do with 'ati' GPUs. FastClassic already explained what the problem is. The map creation tool is more flexible at finding assets than the actual map is, it (the map) doesn't automatically link to objects and textures in other locations. Pay attention to the wiki and how you're supposed to set up your assets.
     
  13. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Is it possible that a few custom prefabs that were not being used in the map (I was testing them out) Were causing problems in the map folder?

    Thanks
     
  14. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    I can't find the .ter file in your map folder, that is also one of the errors thrown by beam when loading it. I think that is the main problem (cause of the driving on water issue), could you re-upload a copy of the map that includes the .ter file? I think there are also some texture issues that need to be fixed, like others have said, but the main problem is the missing ter file.
     
  15. BiscoMix

    BiscoMix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    I kind of had the same issue as you did. Here are some things to take note on.

    You should have a folder called art in your level directory and a folder called terrains in there. [Level folder] > art > terrains.

    Inside of the terrain folder, you should have your ground textures. Every single one you used on your map for painting the terrian. There should also be a file in there called materials' or also called 'materials.cs'. This file is how the game engine finds the directory to your textures. If it can't find the file or the directories are wrong in that file, it will call up a bunch of errors and the textures will change to that nasty orange color that says "no texture" or something along those lines.

    So, what's inside of the materials.cs and how do you open it? You can open this file with an editor (or notepad if that's all you have.)

    Example materials.cs file and understanding it:

    new TerrainMaterial()
    {
    diffuseMap = "levels/small_island/art/terrains/Overlay_RockyDirt";
    detailMap = "levels/small_island/art/terrains/RockyDirt-01-D";
    internalName = "RockyDirt";
    detailDistance = "150";
    detailStrength = "1";
    parallaxScale = "0";
    diffuseSize = "100";
    normalMap = "levels/small_island/art/terrains/RockyDirt-01-N";
    };

    As you can see above, this file stores all of the settings for that material and its directory to the detail map, diffusemap, etc. It also has a name, "RockyDirt". Make sure the directory is pointed to the root folder of your level and the correct material. levels/yourlevelname/art/terrains/thematerial.

    When you add a new material, it should automatically update the material.cs file. But if you don't have one in there, the texture won't store or display for people who aren't on your computer.
     
    #15 BiscoMix, Oct 10, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2013
  16. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    AMD, hasnt been ATI for the better part of a decade (2006 specifically).
     
  17. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Hi guys, you were right about the ACTUAL MAP not being there (.terr)!

    Some screens of the folder:
    01.png 02.png 03.png
     
  18. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    Yep, for some reason some of my custom maps save the .ter file to the root level directory instead of in my level folder, maybe the same thing happened here? Have you re-uploaded the map with the .ter file included?
     
  19. jackeo21

    jackeo21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    No, will get onto that now :)

    - - - Updated - - -

    I Have Updated The Files. Link At The Top Of The Page. :)
     
  20. BiscoMix

    BiscoMix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Not the correct .ter file. They're both flat.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice