LUA questions

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Яeverse Bass, May 9, 2016.

1. Яeverse Bass

Яeverse Bass
    Expand Collapse

Hi everybody,

I've been attempting to make some scenarios against the AI, and because I'm a total beginner, I need to ask some questions.

So basically, I want to make a drag race, preferably on a mesh road. Using the LUA of the official 'Airfield Showdown', I have the issue of the AI attempting to drive left (and then right, after they hit a wall) at the very start. I did place the waypoints perfectly up ahead on a straight, completely even road.

Either way, all I need to code is to make the AI hold the pedal and adjust to certain x and y coordinates.

I've been trying a lot with replacing and coding it myself (using dragAI), but it never worked. I'd be very happy to have someone help me out. This would also enable me to code some oval racing, hopefully.

Thanks in advance!

2. Scepheo

Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

You say that, but I don't see a single question in your post.

This is how you should be doing it, so show us what you did. It works in Airfield Showdown, so you're probably just doing it wrong.

What did you try? What did you expect it to do? What did it do instead? There are plenty of guides on how to ask questions about coding (like here or here) if you need help.

3. Яeverse Bass

Яeverse Bass
    Expand Collapse

Thank you for your response!
    You are, of course, right. I should have included more information in my post.

I tried to make the scenario on GridMap: Copying all the contents and translating all vehicles plus checkpoints did make for a working scenario. However, upon rotating all those, the AI steers towards what I believe to be the original orientation of the waypoint set as a target (clearing cache did not help). I did make sure - multiple times - that waypoints are placed correctly.