More Fuel Types

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Capkirk, Jun 5, 2018.

1. Capkirk

Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

I've been trying to add more fuel types to beamng beyond "gas" "diesel" and "kerosene", specifically CNG and LNG. I've never used LUA before, but it seems pretty simply, and by editing the fuelTank.lua file in the game directory, I was able to get the game to recognize CNG as a fuel type. However, if I try to make it into it's own seperate file, (by copying the entire LUA file and putting in a mod) it won't work. So, I was wondering if anyone knows how to make a lua file work so it can be packed into a mod. Just for reference, the relevant code section is
    Code:
      elseif storage.energyType == "CNG" then
        storage.energyDensity = 53.6 * 1000000 --MJ/kg
        storage.fuelLiquidDensity = 0.13
      elseif storage.energyType == "LNG" then
        storage.energyDensity = 53.6 * 1000000 --MJ/kg
        storage.fuelLiquidDensity = 0.5 

2. Alex_Farmer557

Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

wait kero is a recognised fuel ingame?

3. Capkirk

Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

Yeah, it's defined in the lua file. I've never tried using it, but if you set an engine's fuel type to "kerosene" it should work

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. Alex_Farmer557

Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

dear lord my irish fuel memes cant be truer!
    You sir, are a saviour!!

5. Neo

Neo
    Expand Collapse

Usually you copy the file into you mods directory and mimic the folder structure there one to one, but you are not able to upload you mod to the repo bacause you are not allowed to overwrite any game data files see here. You may find a way to get you code into the game without overwriting game data files.

6. Capkirk

Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

I actually did that, just copy the entire fuelTank.lua into the mod and it didn't do anything. Only changing the file in the game directory seemed to work.

7. Deleted member 160369

Deleted member 160369