1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

MRK kit: RAILROAD TRACKS

Discussion in 'Terrains, Levels, Maps' started by bob.blunderton, Aug 21, 2018.

  1. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    The first upload, of the MRK KIT, which is over 550 pieces total.
    This first kit provides about two dozen railroad track pieces, plus four crossings if needed!
    NO BRIDGES ARE MADE YET, they will be soon.
    FOR USE IN THE FOREST BRUSH OF THE MAP EDITOR. BUILT IN COLLISION MESH AND LOD'S.

    This consists of:
    One LONG track piece, and one SHORT track piece, pictured below (not shown, 3 meter straight filler) :


    A total of 5 upward sloping pieces, and a total of 5 downward sloping pieces, 10 total, most of which are pictured below straight out from the camera.

    Choice of about 11 curve pieces, from barely any curve, to harsh, low-speed curves like metro tracks have in cities. Some of these are pictured below.

    Also pictured below, included in the intersections4pack ZIP file is a choice of FOUR level crossings.
    These level crossings work for road widths of two to five lanes. A basic example is pictured below (ignore the 'glitch' in the road on the right, it's only like that from very far away, as it's fading out to billboards).

    In the shot immediately above, left to right is: Small filler, Alt-angled crossing, regular crossing, surface road crossing. The angled crossing is a reverse angle of the crossing shown in the previous shot.

    Above, the ends of these pieces are tucked so that it doesn't act up with collisions as badly, still, driving along the tracks will eat car tires like any other tracks due to narrow rails. However, with intersections, I kept the intersections about 4 inches higher than the tracks, to alleviate the issue with crossing vehicles getting 'stuck' in the track rail like the old ones in Roane County (among other maps) used. You can slam the breaks or burn rubber across the tracks and so long as you don't drive in the direction the tracks go (perpendicular to the road) you will be 100% fine.

    These pieces have FULL COLLISION and LOD's so not only can you use them in the FOREST BRUSH without any limit what-so-ever (don't use them from the f1 object editor if you can help it), you can also use lots of them without murdering performance. On a modern video card they should not impact performance what-so-ever as they only use 3 surfaces - 6 triangle when viewed from a half-block away or more (less than <1/1000 of what your vehicle does up close).
    If you find these useful PLEASE donate if you can afford to here:
    https://www.patreon.com/user?u=12840784

    More MRK kits will come out in the future as I get them bug free and my map is further along.
    Becoming a Patron helps speed up development/release and provides more assets to build the city with.
    This is something you can look forward to:

    Every road you see here is part of the MRK 'Modular Road Kit', these puzzle pieces will allow you to build little surface streets all the way up to 6 lane avenues and large highways, both raised and at ground level.
    https://www.beamng.com/threads/a-new-city-map-unnamed.57055/

    Part of the main reason behind me making the complete 558 piece modular road kit, is due to the fact that a year or more back, I promised I'd create the successor to Generic City. Slowly, I am fulfilling this promise - while making something on a much grander, and much more detailed scale, while still giving back to the community. So see my city map thread above, to watch development on a 10.6km X 10.6km map the size of GTAV's Island map (roughly), with a huuuuuge city that will sprawl as far as FPS allows.

    Have you ever used NAM for Simcity 4? Ever played a city builder? This MRK kit is like NAM for BeamNG.drive!

    So in the future, everyone will be able to build a city, just bringing your own homes/businesses and brain!

    REQUIRED: Place all files from the two ZIP files into one folder such as /art/shapes/MRK inside your map folder, create a materials.cs file and paste the stuff from the README into it. Don't include the 6-lines of instructions in the readme file though. This lets the game find the textures for the texture entries inside of the DAE models. If you mess up on this, you will get no texture errors. If you don't know how to do this, I am sorry but I cannot provide support for this. The way the stuff is listed in the readme, means you don't have to change path names (because there aren't any), provided you put the graphics (included) in the same folder as the materials.cs file.
    If you must have specular texture on the stone track base, then you can use the one from the river stone in ECA (for the terrain in ECA, look at the river stone, it's that one), it should match the stone texture just fine. I don't have it edited in at this point so I couldn't add it here. This stone texture is merely re-colored from that grey small gravel stone in ECA.
    Now don't forget, for full benefit, add this to your forest brush, and set ROTATION value to 0 to make it easy to make a straight line and line up track. Be very careful to line up track perfectly so the trains don't get injured.
    I hope this helps!

    --Enjoy
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 16
  2. zagdima

    zagdima
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Cool. Bu i still have to manualy adjust them? What the reason to make them as brushes?
    If it was possible to make rails like road path this would be cool so they rotate automatically like in CIty skylines
     

    Attached Files:

    • BeamNGdrivex642018-08-2121-41-00-198.png
  3. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    The old rails didn't have built-in collision, so they wouldn't work with the forest brush, and you would be limited to a total of 4096 (4K) objects in the entire map. This limit won't hit every mapper, but if you have a larger map, you'll hit this quite readily without using lots of forest objects. This MRK Rail piece setup will work nicely for whoever wants to take the time to make a nice rail network for their trains. Forest objects don't count towards the 4K limit, so you can use a complex map design and still enjoy making a nice rail layout, too.

    I think there would be a way to do this with the track tool if I provided an example shape to it. I would have to take a look at it - not sure how well it holds shape - has to be 100% to make that work. Don't wait for this though, not even going to try it out for a while yet, as I've got LOTS of other stuff to do (like bridges for these tracks, and a canal set for my city, never-mind finishing the whole city! etc).
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,043
    Finally I found time to test these pieces.

    For a test, I built nice oval track as some did have as a kid, first I ended up running out of space, but luckily I did put pieces in as Static objects, so it was easy to move them. I put those 22 degree turn pieces in:
    upload_2018-9-3_21-3-51.png

    Then I found out that this train did not want to make such tight turns, but it did wobble it's way trough first straight, that is something at least :p
    upload_2018-9-3_21-4-36.png

    So I think next I need to test some bit less severe turns so that train would somewhat get trough the track.

    I did notice that UV map is different in different pieces, which results rocks being bit different size and also long straight piece and this surface road crossing are bit different size here:
    upload_2018-9-3_21-10-24.png
     
  5. Johnny Wilson

    Johnny Wilson
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    How do I download these train tracks?
     
  6. Kueso

    Kueso
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,906
    you click the bright blue file in the original post
    im sorry but please look next time :p
     
  7. Johnny Wilson

    Johnny Wilson
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    No I mean how do I spawn them in world editor. I don't know where the map folder is and I don't know how to make a material.cs folder. If solution found, thanks.
     
  8. Kueso

    Kueso
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,906
    Oh that’s what you meant lol. Go check the wiki. It might be able to help you out:)
     
  9. acynder

    acynder
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    This set of tracks its amazing! great job! I love the 1 degree turns, these curby boys alows for nut speed trains to share great amounts of freedoms all over the place!

    Can I ask how are, if at all, gona make swichs?
     
  10. gillianbyrne26

    gillianbyrne26
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    How do I spawn the Tracks? Ive looked Everywhere but No info. Help!
     
  11. Theodore The Class B20

    Theodore The Class B20
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    (Sorry for bump) Instructions unclear, cannot find any directory similar to what you provided
     
  12. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Once you download the tracks, with the editor / BeamNG closed, extract the contents of the ZIP file and add the tracks & data (zip file contents) to a folder inside the directory structure of the map you're working in. Something like levels/YOURMAPNAME/art/shapes/tracks will do fine. The materials.cs should stay in the same folder as your tracks and graphics files or it won't work and your tracks will be ORANGE. That's bad. You won't need to edit the materials.cs as it just pulls stuff from the same directory, there's no paths involved or needing to be edited.
    Once you've added the tracks, the materials.cs file, and the graphics to your map folder, then open BeamNG. Go into the F11 map editor once you've loaded your map.
    Open your map, goto the F1 object editor (or forest brush!) and add them in using the 'add brush' or 'browse for object' method.
    You'll have to add them one at a time until you get one of each type in. With the f1 object editor you can shift+drag to copy one, or with the forest brush, just pick the track you want from the one's you've loaded in already as you need them. It's pretty easy, sorry if the instructions are un-clear. I realize it can be daunting the first time you use it, but the editor is actually pretty darn easy once you get a few basics down.

    If you want to add them to an existing game - map, you'd have to first extract the contents of one of the game maps from the game's installation folder into documents/beamng.drive/levels/ (and whatever map it will be is the name of the folder inside levels, such as /utah/ or /industrial/ ). Whatever is inside /levels/ always over-rides other stuff, so careful if the game updates when editing stock maps, it runs a chance of breaking things. If adding things to one of my maps or the other maps on here, just extract the contents of the map zip (which will start with /levels/MAPNAME/art/ and so-forth into the documents/beamng.drive folder, it should automatically put the levels folder for you if you merely grab the levels folder from the ZIP file and drop it into the documents/beamng.drive folder.

    When using the forest brush, set rotation to 0 before spawning tracks, then you don't have to line all the straight ones up when making a long line of them.
    I hope this makes some things clearer!
     
  13. Theodore The Class B20

    Theodore The Class B20
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    upload_2019-8-16_22-30-52.png Well i got the tracks into the game, but since the forest brush is too hard for me to use, i'm using the normal object editor instead
     
  14. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Okay, whichever works, that should do just fine. Make sure to select 'collision mesh' when using the object editor. Using 'visible mesh' might lead to 'sticky situations' for a car (even though tracks by nature, do eat cars, nothing can be done about this either).
    It used to matter more as there used to be a 4096 object limit inside the F1 object editor. This limit was removed 6~12+ months ago or more, though I can't be 100% sure when. There was only a theoretical limit in the forest brush based on how much RAM you had in the system, otherwise no limit. Currently I do not know if any object limit exists, except for AI nodes (something that has little to do with railroad tracks).
    Someone made a switch, at some point, I will have to throw it in. don't hold your breath though, been kind of busy lately working on my airport. The airport might get 'THE PLANE TRAIN' in it though, it's big enough (it's modeled after Atlanta with 5 concourses and a terminal building)... one day maybe, one day.
    Enjoy!
     
  15. Andrew 208

    Andrew 208
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    19

    I was wondering, how in the world do I get these to work with the forest brush on the new editor? I cant seem to figure it out at all. I have them working fine as an object, just not as a brush
     
  16. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    The benefit of using the forest brush was unlimited usage. You can do just fine on the object use now as there's no more limit of objects in the map. Also, since the engine was updated almost two years ago, duplicate objects (when you spawn more than one of the same named object) do not incur additional resources to render (the rendered objects batch, which means identical faces are drawn simultaneously).
    I do NOT know how to use the new editor, ... The new editor is anything but user friendly, VS the old editor (open it by pressing CTRL SHIFT F11 in-stead of just F11). The old editor was super-easy to pick up and learn, where the new one is so complicated and has modes combined 'for convenience' sake (it's no longer set in stone what mode you're in).
    Post your feelings and experience with the new editor in the 'help and support' section of this forum, and tell them how confusing it is and impossible to learn. I know so many people - around 95~98% of which all hate the new editor and want to keep the old one. In-fact, when they tried getting rid of the old editor, and some things broke in favor of the new one, I went absolutely livid. I'd never have started editing and making maps for this game if it always was the editor 2.0. Every time I've tried using it, it's ended in disaster of varying proportions - from crashing the entire (LUA coded) interface and having to restart the entire game, to completely buggering up parts of the map to where I had to throw out my progress and restore from backup.

    I love this game - it is by long and far my favorite - and I love everything the developers/staff do with it and with this forum - EXCEPT - and this is one big exception, that editor 2.0.


    To that end, Los Injurus continues to be edited and worked on from game version 0.19.x (I back up all my game versions as they get stabilized with patches post-release). I just refuse to use the new editor. It's just way too confusing, crash prone, and the color scheme (dark blue and black with white text) give me eye strain. What takes seconds on the old editor 1.0 takes 10 minutes to try and figure out how to do... only ending in mistakes / disaster / corrupted map.
    The old editor is fine. LUA code is prone to crashing out with NIL errors, I've dealt with it enough with the Stalker game series and Fallout 4 (among countless other unstable games!) to know better than to ever trust that new editor.
    When the new editor is further along in development, maybe I can use it and not need to take extra blood pressure meds / not want to kill the PC every time.
    So sorry for the rant, but you can use the objects in the object editor like you are doing.
    Just do the following:
    Spawn one of every railroad track object you plan on using while editing, and set them to the side. Then for each one (one at a time), set them to use the 'collision mesh' for collision - not visible mesh (never use visible mesh on my objects as it will require much more CPU power and also will cause the car to get stuck, but you may need to use visible mesh final on someone else's objects if there's no dedicated collision mesh. ALL of my objects except signs have a dedicated collision mesh for interacting with the vehicle). You can't select multiple objects and then specify collision mesh, you have to do it one at a time.
    You can then, when ready to build, hold shift + drag to copy any selected object(s) when you've selected your objects you want to make a copy of, and when you release shift a copy will then appear (if you select a bunch, it could take a few seconds per object to spawn a copy, depending on your computer hardware capabilities, so DO give it some time to think). Also, you can hold shift while rotating (I believe it's that) to make things rotate at fixed angles, good to line things up or get perfect north-south or east-west or diagonal routes.
    You may have to exit the editor to get collision to register - and possibly restart the game when you wish to test them out (not 100% sure, as forest brush things have collision upon leaving the editor).
    In levels/TSH/ART/FOREST is a managed item data file that is the master file for the forest object locations. If you use any info from it, you'll have to correct the paths from /TSH/ to something else whatever your map is named (always use the leading / character and the following / character so you don't bulk-replace parts of other names too when auto-replacing names in bulk). Feel free to use that to peruse all that is available. Within it, things with 'Train tracks' or 'tracks' and the subway kit all go together and are interchangeable / same gauge.
    The old editor has a forest brush mode that makes it easy to add objects, just click around in the box on the top right and it should explain how to do it.
    --Good luck!
     
    #16 bob.blunderton, Nov 22, 2020 at 11:05 PM
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2020 at 2:25 PM
  17. Andrew 208

    Andrew 208
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    This, right here, I believe is what the culprit is of my game running up and using all my ram, I used the track pack you used in Roane County, and I think that on top of the new editor was causing it to memory leak, no other objects cause this issue besides those tracks, as they use visible mesh, Ill have to see if I can Ctrl-Shift-F11 the old editor in version 20 (It does work just tested) , The one thing I cannot stand is that the old editor when making terrain, If you wanted to set a height you could type it in, the 2.0 editor uses a slider, with no way to input numbers, and it pisses me off to no end that I have to use the eyedropper tool to set height to surrounding areas.

    Im actually trying to use Blender to edit the other track pack and build a switch, I have successfully put the 45 deg curve and morphed it into the 50m straight and was able to edit the track to make it look like a switch (besides I havent finished the frog yet) but I want to make the points movable so you can set direction, I was thinking of something like making the points attach to a switch stand that you can operate with the node grabber but I actually dont know how to do that (ive spent maybe 5 hours in blender). Just still in the process of learning how to make an object work properly in game besides just copy and pasting code from something else and hoping it works lol.

    I did successfully make a 90 deg track crossing that worked very well (2 tracks intersecting at 90 deg)

    20201122163501_1.jpg

    AS you can tell in this picture I need to fix the mesh and build a frog


    20201122163513_1.jpg

    This is a frog, It allow the two rails to intersect, using the short rails on either side to hold the back of the wheel flange, it can keep the wheels from jumping the frog and derailing

    frog2.jpg
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice