1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.25 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

My pc runs beamng rather slow...

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Finnb., Oct 21, 2015.

  1. Finnb.

    Finnb.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Hello people, my beamng runs really rather slow on my desktop. I have it at the lowest settings possible, on 720p and I get 10-20 fps.
    My specs are:
    CPU: AMD A4 6300 APU
    GPU: AMD Radeon 8370 @2GB ddr3 APU
    RAM: 6 GB 1333mhz RAM( 4 gigs usable because of the GPU)
    MOBO: Asus f2a85 m PRO
    Windows 10 pro

    I have the high performance power plan on and setting priority to high doesnt change anything.
    I hope there is a solution.

    [EDIT]
    So I understand my pc is just too bad to run it well, so im goin to get something better soon.
     
    #1 Finnb., Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  2. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    I think its the AMD processor Beam runs better on an Intel based processor than an AMD based Processor I believe
     
  3. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    That CPU only has a single FPU (floating point unit, which does all the math for the physics). BeamNG's recommended CPU is an Intel quad-core, which would have four. I think that explains the problem.
     
  4. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    This game is built more for Intel over AMD processors its a different setup used on AMD processors they are lagging behind the powerhouse that Intel is giving everyone....

    Yeah I can JUST about run it on my sh**y system at low settings

    CPU: Intel E8400
    RAM: 4GB DDR2
    GPU: XFX 5770

    but I am gonna be upgrading in December with something with alot more horsepower which means I can go to max settings :D

    CPU: Intel 5960X
    RAM: 16GB DDR4
    GPU: GTX 980

    Which should be more than enough to run 60FPS at 4K if I am willing to move a 15kg Computer into my sitting room and hook up my pc to it...although my dad will be mad with me if I did that hehe!!
     
  5. Finnb.

    Finnb.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    What if I bought a AMD Anthlon x4 860k Quad core with a R7 360 (2 GB GDDR5).
    Would that run it at reasonable FPS?
    PS: how did you find the amount of FPU's?
     
  6. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    @tdev please help here I think I am in over my head in this....

    Also I think the use of AMD chips is a problem this game is built for Quad Core Intel Chips I believe....but thats how I see it okay...
     
  7. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Then dont comment, its really that simple, particularly with the frequency at which you spew stuff which is just plain wrong.




    OP:
    The APUs are low end chips not even intended for light gaming. Running at say 3 ghz, they are slower than an AMD FX series also at 3ghz, and the FX series struggle in BeamNG as is.

    Your rig is simply not powerful enough for BeamNG.

    Number of FPUs on intel is the same as the core count. In AMD FX is half the core count, unsure on your exact APU but I know the newer ones are the same as FX in being half the core count. In athlon, its the same as the core count, but athlon is a long out of date architecture.

    There really is no good high performance option in FM2 socketed chips.
     
  8. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Wikipedia. CTRL+F for A4-6300, which tells me it's a Richland. It also tells me Richlands use the Piledriver microarchitecture (follow link), which then says it uses the same "module" design as Bulldozer (follow link again), which has a pretty diagram showing that a module has two cores and one FPU. The A4-6300 has 2 cores, so one module, so one FPU. tl;dr: with applied Google-fu.
     
  9. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Eh my googlefu just bought up details about the vector pipeline made available through the onboard graphics :/
     
  10. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751

    Thanks for the words of wisdom there man I appreciate it
     
  11. Sgt. Chip Saunders

    Sgt. Chip Saunders
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I think you should invest in an A10, but they're still pretty poorly suited for Beam.ng, as the the other posters have pointed out. If you can afford it, you should try getting an AM3+ board and an FX CPU with 6+ cores because my FX 8350 (8 cores) gets 63 FPS while running 3 cars onscreen. Alternatively, you can splurge on an Intel setup with something like a newer i5 or i7.

    Also, you should really get a discrete card so you aren't wasting 2GB of ram on a cruddy integrated solution. On top of that, I think if you use a discrete card, the processor will use the integrated graphics to assist the CPU(at least that was the case with my E2 APU).

    I've built lots of AMD systems, so I know they get the job done as long as you get one of their better CPUs. Intel, on the other hand, is powerful but costs more so really its whether or not you want to spend the extra money.


    Just a side note, have you tried turning off collisions?
     
  12. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    If I was gonna do the Intel build I would generally wait for the Christmas sales....thats what I generally do....
     
  13. Sgt. Chip Saunders

    Sgt. Chip Saunders
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Or you could try cyber monday/ black friday, since that's coming up pretty soon. It'll save you a few months of agony playing on your pc lol.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Thats a US thing Cyber Monday I am in the UK so I wait till the prices fall then I get the parts needed for my new pc
     
  15. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Most UK retailers have ran black friday/cyber monday deals the last few years.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Ahh okay thanks I thought it was only a US thing man I didnt realise I am so out of touch with reality sometimes xD
     
  17. Finnb.

    Finnb.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Okay, I live in the Netherlands, so I think black friday isn't going to work for me, but I might get something like an FX 8350 with an r7 360 because my budget is 250 euros max.
    I do not thrust ebay or something to buy used parts, so thats not going to be an option. I might sell my laptop for a couple of hundred euros so that might give me some more space.
     
  18. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    You will need a new motherboard for an FX series CPU
     
  19. Finnb.

    Finnb.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Yea, I know. I put up my laptop for sale just a couple minutes ago. If I sell that for 150 euros, That would put my budget up to 400 Euros. With an fx 8320 (150eu) + XFX Radeon R7 360 (125eu) + 30 euro PSU + 45 euro MOBO. I think that would run BeamNG quite well. And a whole lot of other games.

    EDIT:

    Can this run beamng at 1080 p at 60 FPS? I can only afford this if I sell my laptop BTW.
     

    Attached Files:

    • New system.png
    • New system.png
    #19 Finnb., Oct 23, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2015
  20. defib

    defib
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    I have a GTX 980 SC and when I run it at 4k with DSR I can only manage around 25 or so, and sometimes down to aorund 9 on more intensive maps.
    I know my i7-4790k is not the bottleneck as I gain no FPS when I freeze the physics.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice