My Rig

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by JDMJAM, Aug 16, 2014.

1. JDMJAM

JDMJAM
    Expand Collapse

Hey all,
    This is my very first post, I'm a BeamNG Drive newbie, so thought the best way to introduce myself is to share my favorite toy :)

Specs are:-
    Antec P90 case
    ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 1155 Motherboard
    i5 3570K
    16GB Corsair Vengeance latancy matched RAM
    128GB SSD Drive (C Drive)
    2 x 3TB Seagate HDDs (Mirrored)
    MSI Nvidia GTX660Ti
    700W Modular PSU

The PC is running Win7 Ultimate and is in no way overclocked, but I am looking to go to the dark side and introduce some water cooling at some point in the future.
    I have had this setup for just over a year and I'm starting to get the itch to upgrade to an i7, maybe the 4790, however it means a new M/B too.... slightly out of my budget at the moment.

Runs BeamNG great, however I noticed that with more than 4 cars on screen things start to sloooooooooow.... is that normal?

2. SHOme1289

SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

PSSHH yeah that's normal, on half of the community's computers, 1 car will lag the game on low settings, whereas the other half's computers run multiple cars smoothly. It is a very CPU-intensive game, and 1 car runs on 1 core of the CPU, so after 4 cars on a 4 core system, things get worse and worse. The devs have recently released an update that optimized the physics engine a bit, and I am sure they are working their hardest to get the game more FPS-friendly. Also, a good way to check your system, is to run the game, press Shift+F and check your actual FPS (upper left hand corner) on the settings you feel comfortable with, then after a few minutes, press "J" and see if your FPS increases...Sometimes, the CPU may be good enough, but the GPU may bottleneck. This is a simple way to check that. Otherwise, welcome to the forums and enjoy the new updates that come along!!s

3. Davidbc

Davidbc
    Expand Collapse