1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

My steering racks won't show up in selector

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Projekt535, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Hi all, I tried creating a file with some modified steering racks so that I would stop losing my tweaks to updates/re-installs, but I can't seem to get them to show up in the parts selector. The "mod" shows up in my mods list, but that's it.

    Could someone please let me know what I am doing wrong? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks for your time!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ai'Torror

    Ai'Torror
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,321
    Change the file names as well as the part names to make sure that they do not overwrite the official ones.
     
  3. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    File and part names are already not the same as official ones...
     
  4. Iro

    Iro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,323
    upload_2018-3-13_16-14-35.png
    v should be lowercase, remove overwriting jbeams
    upload_2018-3-13_16-17-45.png
    slottype shouldnt have _wide
     
  5. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Made the v lowercase. Miramar_steering doesn't overwrite anything, miramar racks are in miramar_suspension_F.jbeam. and the "_wide" is a slot in the official jbeam for the widebody miramar, I took that straight from their steering rack setup in the official suspension jbeam.

    Still not working at all, no etki or coupe racks appeared. :(
     
    #5 Projekt535, Mar 13, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
  6. Iro

    Iro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,323
    oh, i see. sorry bout that
     
  7. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    No worries, I appreciate the help. I'll try changing it anyways to see, but I would think the other racks would work even if those 2 didn't, right?
    --- Post updated ---
    Actually, I remembered incorrectly, the "_wide" slot is in the official miramar suspension jbeam... so that does need to be there to work on the widebody.

    I am stumped, I'm comparing my coupe rack to CJD's and they look nearly identical, I don't see why it wouldn't work, unless the triangles are my problem for some reason, but those are in the official jbeam as well, so idk :(
     

    Attached Files:

    • Compared.png
  8. AX53

    AX53
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    My tip is instead of staring yourself blind on the code, try to change stuff around until you see some effect.
    1. make sure the Jbeams are in a location which the game actually read
    2. try some different names on files and parts

    I've had a similar problem before where the part name was actually the culprit. try to not have "coupe_steering" in the name at all for example.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    I copy/pasted the code directly into the official coupe_suspension_F.jbeam and the rack works flawlessly. It has to be something with the way it's packed. I only went with that because CJD had a CJD_coupe_steering so I thought I'd copy that naming scheme and just change CJD to Projekt.
    --- Post updated ---
    Also, the jbeams are in a zip in the mods folder. zip>vehicles>coupe>projektcoupe_steering.jbeam (I renamed the files as suggested)

    It shows up in my mods list as enabled, but the racks themselves still don't.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice