1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

Solved (new issue) is it possible to create ai paths without decal roads...

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by Fen, May 17, 2018 at 3:19 AM.

  1. Fen

    Fen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,318
    ok so first off, can i place decal roads on the model, since that'd be easier?
    second of all, if not, can i create ai paths without decal roads?
    reason im asking is for my iroha port which is a model instead of terrain
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Yes it is possible :)
    take a look at how the big city map is set up in beamng open it in the world editor, and you will see some big orange spheres in the intersections in the city parts and over bridges, look at the names of the spheres. And then open the zip file, and find a file named *Map* (I think) and there you will find how it all connects together :) Hope this helps a bit.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. thomatoes50

    thomatoes50
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    432
    you're right

    look here
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Fen

    Fen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,318
    thanks guys!
     
  5. Fen

    Fen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,318
    ok so im having issues with ai, heres exactly what i did:

    created a decal road that followed the mesh's road (got tired of placing and renaming hundreds of waypoints)

    set drivability to 1

    moved terrain under mesh so it wouldnt be visible (only by the z axis)

    closed game and moved saved files into zip

    reloaded game


    however, when i try the ai, it drives a few feet backwards then a few feet forwards and doesnt stop. when placing the car on the terrain everything seems to work fine even though the only thing that changes is the z axis. how do i fix this?
     
  6. DuneWulff

    DuneWulff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    636
    How far under the terrain is the decalroad? Open the AI app and you can view the individual nodes that the AI is trying to get to.
    If a decal road node is too far under the terrain, the AI will get stuck in a feedback loop of "I can't reach this node even though I appear to be where it is."
    Fixing this isn't easy, you have to make the terrain extremely close to the mesh so that the AI actually pass through and touch the checkpoint.
    You'll be doing a ton of tweaking to make this possible, and you're going to have to constantly have AI run to make sure that they are able to follow the path. Believe me, I did hours of this working on my Rotting Grounds map.
    You can trick the AI with bridges by making the decal road have nodes only at each end of the bridge. The only issue here is that the bridge has to be absolutely straight or the AI will drive over the edge of said bridge.
    Hopefully you understand this, explaining it isn't really simple.
     
  7. Fen

    Fen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,318
    welp i hate this
    th anks
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice