New laptop decisoion help

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by lol1234567, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. lol1234567

    lol1234567
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Im researching to get a new laptop towards the end of July, and im starting my research early, ive come across a refurbished Thinkpad T420 refurbished http://www.overstock.com/Electronic...top-Computer-Refurbished/9576028/product.html, i zam not very heavy on my laptops so a HD 3000 will work for me as i mainly only play Hl2, Gmod, Counter Strike Etc and a bit of Sims 1,2,3,4 , and i will buy a 16gb ram kit to up the vram i then researched that Beamng is playable at low settings.

    I recently bought a used Thinkpad from a thrift store (A20m) just to get a feel for the quality and i do like the design of the keyboard and such. And the T420 is one of the newest one to come with the old design/Keyboard, wich i would like to stick with as its the closest thing on a laptop resembling a mechanical keyboard.

    But, on Lenovo's website i found a E455 ($450) has a A6 Processor and I just want to know your thoughts on which route I should Go.

    Also give me some recommendations (My budget is about $500 including shipping)
    Requirements
    -Large Hdd over 600gb
    -More than 4gb ram (Unless it has a Dedicated gpu)
    -Must be able to be thrown around a bit with-ought a hiccup
    -Smooth with low end games Gmod, Cs, Hl1 Anthology,Hl2, L4d,Sims series

    Want Not Need
    -Trackpoint
    -Long battery
    -Docking Station
    -Dedicated Graphics
    -Beamng ready?
    -Thinkpad (Yes I love this Brand)
     
  2. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    I know of a few good laptops that would be suitable for you.
    Only problem is that I got them from a german add, so I have no idea if they're buyable in your region or not.
     
  3. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    16gb of ram will go wasted. Yes you can allocate the integrated GPU a tiny bit more, but really, 1-2 is Max you can give them, more simply won't be used, more won't make them faster, stuff that requires more won't run on em anyway, so no point upgrading to 16gb of main ram just to allocate the iGPU some more vram.
     
  4. lol1234567

    lol1234567
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Name them i can look them up on newegg

    - - - Updated - - -

    Yes, i know of this but im just not wanting to skimp
     
  5. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    8GB is more than enough. Hell, 4GB would probably do you just fine. I run 4GB in my laptop and my ultrabook with no issues. (Laptop is dedicated GPU and ultrabook is Intel.)
     
  6. lol1234567

    lol1234567
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for the recommendation, the laptop comes with 4, so i guess 8 will work. I had a desktop that had integrated 3000, it allocated it 1024mb/ 1gb vram
     
  7. Zorin-Ind.

    Zorin-Ind.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Also, avoid TN-panel screens as the view angles are rubbish.
     
  8. destroyer8769

    destroyer8769
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    552
    true, but in normal use they are fine, laptops have hinges for a reason.
     
  9. Fundador

    Fundador
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    595

    If your in the US get a Razer Blade 14. Great powerful gaming laptop that isn't embarrassing to be seen in public with.
     
  10. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    and a bit more than 500 bucks
     
  11. Zorin-Ind.

    Zorin-Ind.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    You're absolutely right, but if you can get one with for instance IPS for the same price, take that one instead.
     
  12. Arkalium07

    Arkalium07
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Intel HD 3000 is not enough to play the game in full screen , even in lowest settings you will be forced to go in 800x600 to keep reasonable framerate , and on light maps.
    My laptop have 4 gb of ram and this chipset , it's not enough.
     
  13. lol1234567

    lol1234567
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Yes im planning to double your ram capacity though,
    Heres a chart I found

    [TABLE]
    [TR]
    [TH]RAM[/TH]
    [TH]Recommended Video Memory[/TH]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]2GB[/TD]
    [TD]256MB[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]4GB[/TD]
    [TD]512MB[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]8GB or more[/TD]
    [TD]1024MB or more[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    I'm essentially going to have double your vram

    Heres a example on YouTube that has worse specs than the Thinkpad or Xt3 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swh-7lfnUbM

    This probably wont max or medium Beamng, that's not what im worried about I just want to play Goldsource/Source engine games Smoothly
    (Btw I saw a Laptop/Tablet in the simmilar price bracket as the T420 http://www.overstock.com/Electronic...efccid=OYGWHG5G2GC2N4KIPEY6R4O7UA&searchidx=1
    Think I should go with it instead?)
     
  14. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Depends on the panel itself. My E4300 had shit viewing angles, really not good at all. My E4310 is pretty damn good. Brighter too.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice