1. Trouble with the game?
    Try the troubleshooter!

Dismiss Notice
  2. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

Dismiss Notice

New to beamng

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Brady Weyer, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Brady Weyer

Brady Weyer
    Expand Collapse

The forums seem like dark waters, but I’m going to dip my toes in here and go ahead and say I’m new to this game. Stumbled upon it on YouTube one day with my kids and am about to set it up on the new PC. Wanted to ask the community here what are some basic need-to-know things as I get started. Seems like the game and mods have some very well though out design features and there are some talented individuals on here that could offer some insight on what to do, not to do, basics on downloading quality mods, etc.

2. rocksim

rocksim
    Expand Collapse

Only download mods from the forums.

• Agree Agree x 6
  3. fufsgfen

fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

Wiki works as manual and guide to many things:
    https://www.beamng.com/link-forums/wiki.574/

Controller or steering wheel is very much recommended, for gamepads from options/controls/filtering page you can set steering limit by speed, so it is much easier to steer correct amount at speed and not to go straight at every turn.

If you download mods from ingame repository that is safe, also downloading mods from these forums is pretty safe, but there are other sites which will lure with things like ferraris etc, which contain really badly made mods and can come with malware too, so with those experience might not be the best, hence recommendations to use only ingame repo and this forum.

Left control is handy key, hold it down and you can grab points of vehicle, you can also bind two points of different vehicles together etc.

Loading a boxtruck you usually pause physics with J key, then use world editor (F11) key to move load into truck.