No material

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by GoncaloTR, Jul 26, 2020.

  1. GoncaloTR

    GoncaloTR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    First of all, sorry for coming here to ask something that is probably somewhere explained already and I still can't figure it out.

    I have been trying the last 2 days to make my modded parts to have body color (for now I'm only trying to figure things out, so i have only used the original meshes or very slighty changed ones) and none came out with color.

    The only tutorial that i have found was this:
    https://www.beamng.com/threads/tutorial-adding-textures-and-materials-without-uvs.7728/ - from 2014
    which seems to be outdated since it uses the material editor that is no where to be found (from my research I believe it has been removed) and also since .json is said to be more futureproof I have been trying to use that, making it even more confusing.

    I don't even know if a need a material.json file to attribute a color to a simple hood part, but I have only been able to change it from the orange not material texture to the blank white one by changing the material name in blender to "Material" inside blender.


    I also have tried to remove the materials file from a official car in game (I used the vivace for it) and from what I realized that the body color of the car parts was not dependent of the material files, making me believe that the materials file is not what I'm lacking here.

    I don't have more ideas of what to try next so I'm here to ask what I'm missing.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
    • 21.jpg
  2. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,065
    You do, but what's more important is that you need to add the colour/material into the materials.json file so the game knows where to look for that colour & how to make it look ingame
     
  3. GoncaloTR

    GoncaloTR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    So should something like this work out? (provided that GON_etkc_Paint is the mesh material and the maps are just copies of the original ones on the mod file)

    Code:
    {
        "GON_etkc_Paint": {
            "name": "GON_etkc_Paint",
            "class": "Material",
    
            "Stages": [{
                    "colorMap": "vehicles/common/GON_null.dds",
                    "normalMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_n.dds",
                    "pixelSpecular": true,
                    "specularMap": "vehicles/common/GON_null.dds",
                    "specularPower": 128,
                    "useAnisotropic": true
                },
                {
                    "colorMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_d.dds",
                    "normalMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_n.dds",
                    "pixelSpecular": true,
                    "specularMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_s.dds",
                    "specularPower": 32,
                    "useAnisotropic": true
                },
                {
                    "colorMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_c.dds",
                    "instanceDiffuse": true,
                    "normalMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_n.dds",
                    "pixelSpecular": true,
                    "specularMap": "vehicles/etkc/GON_etkc_s.dds",
                    "specularPower": 128,
                    "useAnisotropic": true
                },
                {}
            ],
            "alphaRef": 0,
            "dynamicCubemap": true,
            "mapTo": "GON_etkc_Paint",
            "translucent": true,
            "translucentBlendOp": "None"
        }
    }
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Jeremy_ZS

    Jeremy_ZS
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    Hello,

    If you ever see a lot of these on the BeamNG game the "Claer Cache". There is no "Clear Cache" Option so if you run the game there are 3 Options to start the game so go to support then you see the "Clear Cache" option then click on it! It won't erase your MODS it just reset he game don't worry about he MODS it will be fine. (If not work choose "Safe Mode" Option)
     
  5. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,624
    This has absolutely nothing to do with any of the previous messages on the thread, don't post off-topic stuff, especially long text walls like this
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice