Overclocking Help

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by Cardinal799, Jan 25, 2014.

1. Cardinal799

Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

I have just today gotten my new cooler to my CPU, and it is much better at cooling compared to stock.

To give you an idea of how bad my old cooler was, well, I was able to run an approximately two minute Prime95 test and reach 65C. After two minutes on this cooler, it stays at 35C, so that is quite a difference (plus it is much quieter).

I am creating this thread primarily for help with overclocking, now that I can properly cool my CPU, and so I do not keep clogging another thread, where this all started.

I am still quite new to overclocking, but I have managed to apply an overclock (a quite unstable one) to my PC before without any immediate damage.

I plan to get to around 4GHz, or 3.8 at a debatable minimum, for the overclock. Also, if I end up posting that I am about to do something, I will usually wait for an approval from whoever is directing the procedure.

2. AirSKiller

AirSKiller
    Expand Collapse

You can easily get that CPU to @4.5GHz, just take your time, google some guides (make sure they are for AMD FX series CPU's) and try... It's pretty much trial and error until you get really close :)

3. Cardinal799

Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

Currently doing a test at 4GHz. Up to 40C (105F) so far and only ten minutes in. I also heard 5 clicks come from somewhere in my computer or it could have been my hard drive D:

- - - Updated - - -

Okay, so I am at 4.0GHz now, and I was in a bit of a pickle yesterday.