Outdated Project Irohazaka [UPDATE 11\08\15] Beta 4 RELEASE adds IroaSlopes Beta

Discussion in 'Terrains, Levels, Maps' started by williamparrilla, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. williamparrilla

    williamparrilla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Really apritiating all this information, the zones and portals are all new to me, I will be looking foward to messing around with it on the weekend, if I still had the original BTB files for iroa 2 I would certainly fix the height, but I do not, thats why on iroa 1 they are good height, I still have all m y project files for that, see BTB is a more simplified 3D program to create tracks, however don't get it confused BTB is not a program you just click and drag things, you do need basic experience to achieve decent results specialy real life remakes.I love BTB tough because of how simple it is to get heitmaps for the route you plan on making using gps data.I am also finishing up iroa 1 on BTB but my next project (classified) will be made in the new succesor to BTB which is RTB, how ever the information you are providing me, will also help me on this and next project for fps, im hoping :)
     
  2. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    I was not familiar with BTB or RTB before, thanks for bringing them up. They both look like useful/interesting tools.
     
  3. williamparrilla

    williamparrilla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Very interesting, hey, so how do you go about into splitting a dae into parts or zones? Just need tje basics.like I understand what you mean but I don't really understand were to start.

    Edit: like do I use T3D or try and do it on some other 3D program? Theres actually only one zone in iroa uphill that the fps issue happens but on iroa 1 theres like 3 and one of them is the most important part of the track :(
     
  4. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Have you tried the *.mis file I provided to see if that alleviated the FPS issues enough?

    I'm not familiar enough to answer your question really. You'd use Blender. I think that you'd carefully delete half the nodes from two separate copies of the DAE to provide a small amount of overlap if you were splitting it in half. It would probably be best to have it split into significantly smaller parts though.

    EDIT: I suggest posting a question about it over in the Content Creation subforum! I've had good luck getting help with specific questions over there.
     
  5. williamparrilla

    williamparrilla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    I have not had time to try the .mis,very busy with work and kids,i will take a look at it tomorrow,thank you for your help there sir ;)
     
  6. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Apparently mesh culling should probably be turned on for large complex meshes like this. I have not gone back to see if it's turned on for your meshes, I assume not. We can try that too.
     
  7. williamparrilla

    williamparrilla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Sweet!, thanks, yes we should try that, I will try anything to make it smooth.
     
  8. FS16

    FS16
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    993
    Really want to download...BUT my antivirus says the file is dangerous and deletes it...
     
  9. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Details?
     
  10. williamparrilla

    williamparrilla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Your Antivirus is bugging, I can guarantee you there is nothing dangerous about the file.
     
  11. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    Kills my computer's FPS entirely that may need to be looked into...

    If that FPS issue has been made aware of I am sorry about going on about it if not well at least you know :)
     
  12. youdidwhat!!

    youdidwhat!!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    723
    yea ive got an fps issure aswell but I have 16gb ram 1 I7 and 1 970gtx I think its the trees there are waaay to many for what is needed a simple picture would do the trick nicely
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    I agree I am getting Low 20fps on my rig...Its gotta be the Vegetation I may have to go into the map editor and check that....
     
  14. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    I do not think that there are too many trees. Look at the stock maps - they contain many trees.

    EDIT: Although FWIW I did just check JRI and Hirochi Raceway and they seemed to have .forest files of a little less than 1/3 and 1/2 the size of this map respectively. I still don't think that's the key.
     
    #94 torsion, Dec 14, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2015
  15. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    I have attached a zip file. Please follow my instructions carefully, the directions are drop-dead simple.
    1. Download "Project Iroa update 11082015.zip" from the OP in this thread and install it in your Documents\BeamNG.drive\mods\ folder in the normal way.
    2. Open BeamNG.drive and test the FPS in the level.
    3. Exit the level.
    4. Create a new folder outside of the mods folder like so: Documents\BeamNG.drive\levels\Irohazaka2
    5. Download the zip file attached to this post.
    6. Open the zip file and choose the *.mis file from the "no_mesh_culling" folder.
    7. Extract that file and place it in the folder Documents\BeamNG.drive\levels\Irohazaka2
    8. Open BeamNG.drive and test the FPS in the level.
    9. Exit the level.
    10. Now repeat steps 6-9 with the "mesh_culling" version.
    You should note a marked improvement with both of the provided .mis files. Please test and report which .mis file gives the best performance on your systems.

    I also fixed the spawn location. I left just enough tire snagged in the mesh so that it typically keeps the truck from rolling away.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    I deleted all the trees and it improved my FPS by about 20 but still not good enough :( but its got more potential I guess its the general size of the map that may hold the problem!
     
  17. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Interesting. Please let us know how the files above compare.
     
  18. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    I guess also its something to do with the stone walls too...the FPS dips quite badly when I am around them and that may also be something to look in also
     
  19. mtchll3

    mtchll3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    295
    If you break up the mesh more and ad an ultra low quality lod of each you could likely improve the performance
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Already been discussed. See earlier posts. I'm just not sure how practical a suggestion that is for the OP.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice