WIP Beta released Rally pack (with pacenotes)

Discussion in 'Scenarios' started by lellolillili, Jan 6, 2022.

  1. alex1dp

    alex1dp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    So, everything you suggested works. I only tried version 0.23, but if you update it it breaks.
    I also tried manually downloading 0.24 and placing it both inside and out of the repo folder and unpacking it, and none of that works.

    Actually, I just managed to fix it.
    So, inside the zip there are a mod_info folder and a pacenoteDirector folder. I don't think the latter should be there, so I extracted everything from it, deleted it and then put the art, levels, lua, scripts and settings folders back inside the zip. That didn't work either, so I extracted them in an unpacked folder without the mod_info folder and it now works.

    So, in summary, now I have an unpacked/pacenoteDirector folder, and inside it I have the art, levels, lua, scripts and settings folders from 0.24, and this way it works.
     
    #41 alex1dp, Apr 17, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  2. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks. I can see the issue now: I'm an idiot. I just packed the mod wrong and didn't bother to check the zip when you guys flagged the problem. Thank you guys for helping me fix this #blessed

    Luckily I just uploaded an update a couple of hours ago (we'll be up to V0.3), and it's pending atm. It happens to be zipped correctly, so downloading the new version as soon as it gets approved should fix the problem for everyone.

    Hopefully, I'll make up for this blunder with the new stages, updated pacenotes, new samples and a couple of other things I haven't documented yet.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. alex1dp

    alex1dp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Don't worry, and thanks for your awesome work!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pacifistduck

    pacifistduck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    81
    I was going to say 0.23 worked for me but nice I guess.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    409
    Oh lol I had no idea that it actually was packed wrong because I unzipped the mod manually myself after downloading it and it worked for me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. TeJoeTheHoe

    TeJoeTheHoe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    I prefer the other voice.
    It feels a bit robotic and unsetteling, i have a hard time understanding him. And sometimes it just does this?
     
    #46 TeJoeTheHoe, Apr 30, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2022
  7. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,216
    Into-throughwatersplash
     
  8. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    108
    Ah yeah that's quite a bad sample, thanks for noticing. Sure, I can fix that, but I was expecting a couple more examples though. Is that it?

    BTW, there's no "new voice". It's the same voice, I just added more samples and removed a low-pass filter I had before. "XXX left/right" are in fact the same samples as the older version. Do we agree that they sound the same as the previous version?
     
  9. TeJoeTheHoe

    TeJoeTheHoe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Wait a minute..
    What is this then, I wasent suppose to hear this?


    sorry :/
    --- Post updated ---
    Wait a minute..
    What is this then, I wasent suppose to hear this?


    sorry :/
     
  10. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    108
    Hahaha thanks for generating content with the mod, I appreciate that!

    I see what the problem is. That's HighDef's voice, he recorded the samples for the pacenote core mod (which I use to "say" stuff). They're great samples but unfortunately, there's not that as many, and I wanted to add more (as in, literally hundreds more), so I had to make my own from scratch.

    In fact, your mod is malfunctioning quite badly in that video: you're missing a bunch of pacenotes and many distance calls, which are much more granular with my co-driver. Open the console and you can see errors telling you all the missing samples that the co-driver is actually skipping. I mean, maybe you don't like the voice, but you must have noticed that the co-driver has become much more informative since the last update!

    If you really hate my co-driver and you're interested in recording your own I can send you a list of stuff to say (in whatever language you want to use) and we can start talking about getting that project going. (Spoiler alert though: I don't have much time in the next few weeks)

    If you insist on using the old co-driver voice, I can help you implement it in such a way that the game is still playable and you don't have too many missing samples, but I'm not going to spend much time on it.

    You can also ask HighDef to record more samples in such a way that they're compatible with my mod, but it's a lot of work and you're probably gonna have to ask really nicely.
     
  11. TeJoeTheHoe

    TeJoeTheHoe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the offer, but i migh just have to get used to it.
    Have a great day, and sorry for the trouble.
     
  12. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    108
    Yes I recommend getting used to it tbh. Hopefully you'll appreciate the additional detail.

    I'm planning to add multiple voice support in the future though, so stay tuned for updates.

    And it's no trouble at all, I appreciate feedback regardless.
     
  13. GamerRukky

    GamerRukky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    The mod doesn't work for me for some reason, the checkpoints are visible and the pace notes don't show up nor work. Same with the co-driver
     

    Attached Files:

    • pacenotessssss.png
  14. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,216
    Did you install the pacenotes core by dummiesman ? read the description please.
     
  15. GamerRukky

    GamerRukky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    Of course I did I wouldn't have made the post if I didn't have
     
  16. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,216
    you could have not read the description. Did you try to clear cache, and make sure both mods are activated ?
     
  17. GamerRukky

    GamerRukky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    Yep I've done both but nothing works
     
  18. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,216
    Try deactivating other mods ?
     
  19. GamerRukky

    GamerRukky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    I'll deactivate every other mod and try
     
  20. GamerRukky

    GamerRukky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    Didn't work
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice