1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.25 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Reflection on second vehicle

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by DevKryton, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. DevKryton

    DevKryton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Hello,

    I was wondering if there has been some major changes to the reflection concerning the secondary vehicle on unofficial maps? I run the game nearly maxed out
    and since the new update the reflections on the second/third/etc... vehicle are not exisiting anymore. And I may have missed it but after searching for a while I didn't find
    anything to change it. On official maps this problem is less bad but still there.

    I couldn't care less for playing but for videos this looks ridiculously ugly. I just wanted to know if this is a bug that only happens to me or is this some kind
    of placeholder for better upcoming reflections in the next updates?

    And no the blue car is not some badly ported russian mod, it's the pessima...


    (imported from here)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Dynamic reflections are essentially a whole rendering of the scene, and are therefore very intensive. I'm pretty sure someone asked tdev about this, and he said it's for optimization.

    I don't even use dynamic reflections, and I suggest you do the same, the cubemap looks good enough and it works on multiple vehicles simultaneously. I'm really hoping to see screen-space reflections, they would run much better and work on many different instances at once.
     
  3. clayton8or

    clayton8or
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,045
    It should still be an option, even if not make the other car have cubemap reflections and not completely matte.
     
  4. Aboroath

    Aboroath
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,807
    Gabe also said something about some non-official maps not having the correct basic cubemap for
    sky reflections, rendering vehicles matte no matter what.
     
  5. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    Yea I found that post. Community-Screenshots So some of the unofficial maps don't have the static cubemap.
     
  6. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,633
    I think ever since one update after the dynamic reflections one, dynamic reflections for multiple vehicles was disabled. As others have mentioned, reflections essentially render the scene twice and cause a huge performance hit. Default cubemaps should look fine ;)
     
  7. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    You can always just add one, under the .mis in theLevelInfo put:

    globalEnviromentMap = "BNG_Sky_02_cubemap";

    under AdvancedLightmapSupport.
     
  8. Aboroath

    Aboroath
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,807
    Thank you....was just going to ask about that.
     
  9. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    I should add that some levels have more than one theLevelInfo for some strange reason, so you need to put that under both/all of them. Also, if it doesn't work you'll need to move the cubemap files into the level, you can find them in Hirochi Raceway or other official maps and just copy the "skies" folder into the art folder of the mod level.
     
  10. DevKryton

    DevKryton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Ah thanks a lot! But isn't this a bug then? Because the map in the SS is expressway and it definitely always had a sky and a cubemap! (And still has I checked)
    Also, I tested it, if you disable dynamic refl. even with the vehicle you use it is broken. Since the update the vehicles just dont "recognise" the cubemap anymore even if its there.
     
  11. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    I dunno, I think it's just changed the way cubemaps are handled. You can get Riverside Expressway to use a static cubemap, just follow what I said, and I know it works because I've done it myself. You just need to explicitly say which cubemap to use instead of before where it would automatically find the cubemap.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice