Unsolved Reroute Directories in LUA

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by BombBoy4, May 18, 2017.

1. BombBoy4

BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

For my Main Menu mod, I had an idea to make the mod use your own screenshots automatically. I was wondering if there was a lua code (or something else) that can reroute the directory from .../drive/pictures/image.png to /documents/BeamNG/screenshots. Is this possible? If so, could you show me how to do it?
    Thanks in advance :)
    The mod

#1 BombBoy4, May 18, 2017
    Last edited: May 18, 2017
  2. aljowen

aljowen
    Expand Collapse

Been looking around to see if I could find anything relevant. I should note I am a total newb with doing stuff to this section of the game.

Inside of loading.js (BeamNG.drive\ui\modules\loading) on line 29 there is a string that seems to point to the image files for the loading screens. If you were to modify that line maybe you could point the images for the loading screen to the screenshots folder that way?

Inside of mainmenu.js (BeamNG.drive\ui\modules\mainmenu) on line 184 there seems to be a string that points towards the main menu images. Maybe that would achieve what you want?

I haven't checked these though since I don't really want to go messing around with my game files. I am also not familiar enough with the codebase/api's/language to follow exactly what is going on. Perhaps there are ways you can externally modify these values without affecting the game files?

Also found this beauty inside of mainmenu.js (BeamNG.drive\ui\modules\mainmenu) on line 119 xD
    Code:
    // no fucking clue, why this doesn't just work in the videoBackgroundDirective itself, but well you know

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. BombBoy4

BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

I've tried everything I can to that line and the ones around it, nothing works. Thanks for your help, though :)

4. torsion

torsion
    Expand Collapse

I was discouraged from making mods which included modified menu files: