1. This section is for Ideas and Suggestions related to official game content. Don't request licensed vehicles here please. Read the rules here
    Dismiss Notice

shift kit?

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by moochxmooch, Dec 3, 2017.

  1. moochxmooch

    moochxmooch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    it would be really cool if they added a shift kit to transmissions now that we have line locks and such.
     
  2. Harkin Labs Gaming

    Harkin Labs Gaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Line lock is a feature in this game. I'm not really sure what a shift kit is though.
     
  3. carlosjr

    carlosjr
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    241
    I also have no idea what you mean by shift kits
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,227
    Me neither.
     
  5. Racermon

    Racermon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    What is a shift kit
     
  6. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,227
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shift_kit

    So..... You want a short throw shifter mod and a shorter knob to reduce distance between gears? i mean, IRL it would be useful but what's the point of having it in game?
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. ScreamingZ1

    ScreamingZ1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    52

    lol nooo that would be like a "package deal" someone put together. but he is referring to a shift kit for an auto trans. here is a short and sweet article that sheds some light. basically an auto with a shift kit has shorter, firmer shift times.


    https://www.mistertransmission.com/what-are-shift-kits/
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  8. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,025
    OK, that's already in game then :D
     
  9. Ai'Torror

    Ai'Torror
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,392
    With h-shifter setups, the shift times in the jbeam files are nearly irrelevant as you can shift as fast a s you want ( it is only noticable with 100 times slow motion)
    It is hard to recreate a short throw shifter with the keyboard, as everyones reaction times and the time it takes to press and depress the clutch and change the gear is different. That's why if you care about shift times, use a dct or sequential gearbox, or buy an H-shifter setup (unfortunally devs still don't care about making a realistic shifter layout for the T series, some people think that a range gearbox would be unrealistic, but you can clearly see a range selector lever netlxt to the shifter one in the interrior).
     
  10. moochxmooch

    moochxmooch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    this would be cool, like 3 different shift levels on harshness. (SKIP TO 5:10 TO SEE THE SHIFTS I WANT) watch this video:
     
  11. Racermon

    Racermon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    geezus the first shift, this gives vibes of the drag cars on beamng
     
  12. Ai'Torror

    Ai'Torror
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,392
    If I remember correctly, this is exactly what different torque converters are for. If you want to have those crazy harsh shifts, just make a custom toque converter and play around woth values.
     
  13. moochxmooch

    moochxmooch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    ok ill try
    --- Post updated ---
    I can't seem to find a torque converter mod.
     
  14. Harkin Labs Gaming

    Harkin Labs Gaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Its not a mod, check in the transmission tab in the parts selector.
     
  15. moochxmooch

    moochxmooch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    i can't seem to find a torque converter mod.
    i have all it does is change the stall.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice