1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

Small jump/dirt race track.

Discussion in 'Community Mods - Archived' started by Nothanks, Jun 30, 2013.

  1. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Hello beamng forums! I have learned some of the Torque 3D editor, Im making some small progress and I decided to make some small and some big maps, they are not the best ones!
    I'm really new to this stuff so don't get to hard on me! I try the best I can! I will work on the environment more and do some more terrain job. This is a very early shown picture,

    Plans: Have some kind of parking lot just for the scenery ( I'm working on it)
    Have another road or course to some more heavy jumping section.
    Make it looks so good I can. Thats all from me! Will update as fast I can. :)
    Pics : sadsadas.PNG sdasddsaads.PNG
     
  2. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,880
    Woo! Another map! I need to make one now.
    Looking great, I don't see anything wrong, but I haven't made a map yet.
     
  3. Kamil_

    Kamil_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    699
    Add foliage, grass especially. And put something around the outside of the map so that you can't see that it's a square, and generally see the outside of the map.

    It will be nice to have a dirt track :)
     
  4. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    I tried to add Ground cover grass, but they didn't showed up in the materials section so I will try to come back to that later! :) I'm making another course on the map right now so it will get bigger and less square looking :)
     
  5. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    it might be kind of cool to put some big mountains or hills on the edges to make the edges of the map less visable. I love little tracks like this. bajarama on ror is the best
     
  6. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    I have actually just made an hillclimb section on the map, and a new course! It's like an challenge course but still looks really bad will work with it after work! :)
     
  7. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    So yeah I did some work on the environment and terrain! Much more trees and bushes,rocks etc. The new course is a bit hard I think, I don't know because I can't test it yet :D heuheu But yeah added an mountain with hill climb and down hill track not the best, I will work more with it soon

    heee.PNG Mountain look.
    awdawd.PNG A random obstacle.
    sadasdadas.PNG Bumpy section.

    heuheu.PNG And some random jumps :)
     
  8. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,339
    Looks good :D But don't forget the Anisotropic filter to the textures that need it, like that terrain texture in the 3rd image.
     
  9. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Thank you! :D Yeah I will change that. ran my self in to a random problem, everytime I open and start my level the " Error material" is the number 1 material and takes over the roads and the hill :(
     
  10. Kamil_

    Kamil_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    699
    You should use smaller scale textures and add lots of variation. It does take a lot of time, but the map will look a lot better and not from 2005.
    One of the things you should consider is that grass has lots of variation, it got patches of different colour, and patches with a lot of grass and some with none.

    Basically, try to do things kind of random, and your map will look like Hutch's :D
     
  11. Nothanks

    Nothanks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Okay I have a problem, when I make a new groundcover there is a bug. When i'm gonna choose which material I want to use the hole meterialeditor just crashes or something, I press it and then the program gets dark like I actually clicked it but there's nothing there! so I have to start the editor again but same thing happens. Please help!
     
  12. Pyro Shepherd

    Pyro Shepherd
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    How am I here...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Andybravec

    Andybravec
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    I don't think you should be here in first place....this thread is nearly 4 years old....
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice