Experimental The cached.dts file format needs to go

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by umustbeloggedintododat, Jul 7, 2020.

  1. umustbeloggedintododat

    umustbeloggedintododat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,359
    Hello, I am wondering why some cars still use the cached.dts file format. Cached.dts is inferior to dae. Cached.dts can't be edited like daes. There is no way to edit them or convert them. I know it is a cached file format, but for some reason some old car mods still use this crappy file format. And don't blame me for using old mods.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Zonda

    Zonda
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    136
    The problem is, there isn't really a way that can reverse engineer cached.dts to be imported.
    Cached.DTS is the older named variant of what is now known as Cdae. It is a cached version of the model allowing quicker loading. It is unusable for model editing. The only way to do so would to have the original dae.
     
    #2 Zonda, Jul 7, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2020
  3. umustbeloggedintododat

    umustbeloggedintododat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,359
    I found a .dts file importer but sadly it is not supported with BeamNG cached.dts
     
  4. Zonda

    Zonda
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    136
    I've tried multiple before. Seems like it's just not possible currently.
     
  5. umustbeloggedintododat

    umustbeloggedintododat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,359
  6. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,657
    .DTS is not used since about a bunch of years already. It's no more supported or relevant.
    That was an old format that the game engine used to speed up the loading of the .DAE files.
    Was not meant to be used by modders as a replacement for DAE files.

    Some mods did replace their .DAE files with those (I guess so people wouldn't be able to open the 3D models back).
    It worked at that time, but it was not recommended, and I recall that those mods won't load up the 3D model anymore nowadays.

    .DTS has been replaced with .CDAE (cache collada), same concept behind it: To fasten the load of the .DAE files.
    You are not supposed to use these files, those are generated by the game, for the game itself to use.
     
  7. Zonda

    Zonda
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    136
    I've noticed that some mods that use the format still work, however there is still the lack of access to the 3d model.
     
  8. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,503
    Does this also mean that I can just remove the CDAE when I use a new model and that the game will automatically create a new CDAE based on the new model ?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice