Tire model discussion thread

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by Nipash, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Nipash

Nipash
    Expand Collapse

Hey, just starting a discussion thread about tire physics here since the one on getsatisfaction seemed to be succesful, plus I care deeply about the subject. Annnnyway, judging from this screenshot tDev posted on the Cryengine thread:
    ScreenShot0416.jpg
    It seems as if BeamNG has exactly the same tire system as meshwheels in Rigs of Rods. Now, I'm no expert in car dynamics, but I've been reading this book along with this one lately and it has become apparent to me that the most important thing to having a realistic and good handling car is the tires. Even if your suspension, steering and weight distribution are perfect; if the tires are not realistic then it just ain't gonna feel right. Some of my thoughts to summarize what the tire model should be:

Rim- It would be fine to take the style of rims from wheels2, except you need to be able to choose the width of the rim independent from the width of the hub (so you can adjust scrub radius).

Tire- Ah, a style similar to the model in LFS would work wonders here:

1) Multi-horizontal-segmented tire carcass with each individual metal cord simulated with a beam (each wheel might be around 500-1000 beams).
    2) You need to be able to choose between different types of tire. Drive an old bias-ply classic car and it will slide everywhere where a newer modern radial-tyred car will remain controlled.
    3) You need to be able to set the width of the tire tread, along with how much the sidewall bulges out.
    4) Sidewall stiffness needs to be independently selectable.
    5) Tread stiffness needs to be independently selectable.
    6) You need to be able to choose a tire grip curve in the same style RoR does a torque curve.