Transmission Jbeaming

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by redrobin, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    So for some strange reason, I've gotten it into my head that the Bolide needs an automatic transmission as a selectable part. I've gotten stuck at this point, I don't really know how to carry on. My code is below, any help is appreciated.

    Code:
    
    "super_transaxle_A": {
        "information":{
            "authors":"gabester", "redrobin", 
            "name":"Civetta Bolide 4-Speed Automatic Transaxle",
        }
        "slotType" : "super_transaxle_auto",
        "selfCollisionThickness":0.02,
        "remoteCollisionThickness":0.06,
        "scalebeamSpring":0.8,
        "scalebeamDamp":0.86,
        "scalebeamDeform":0.56,
        "scalebeamStrength":0.89,
        "scalenodeWeight":1.1,
        "flexbodies": [
             ["mesh", "[group]:", "nonFlexMaterials"],
             //engine
             ["super_transaxle_auto", ["super_engine","super_transaxle_auto"]],
        ],    
        "differentials": [
                ["wheelName1",     "wheelName2", "type", "state", "closedTorque", "engineTorqueCoef"],
                ["RL","RR", "lsd", "closed", 150, 1]
        ],
        "engine":{
            "transmissionType":"automatic",
            "differential":3.73,
            // -1, 0 (neutral), 1, etc
            "gears":[-2.65, 0, 3.25, 2.28, 1.69, 1.3]
            "clutchDuration":0.2
            "clutchTorque":400
            //temporary until manual is coded
            "viscousCoupling":7
            "lockingTorqueLimit":400
            "axleFriction":10
            "enableLocking":true
            },
        "nodes": [
             ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             
             {"selfCollision":false},
             {"collision":true}
             //transaxle
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"group":"super_transaxle_auto"},
             {"nodeWeight":12},
             ["tra1r",-0.13, 1.25, 0.385],
             ["tra1l",0.13, 1.25, 0.385],
             ["tra2",0.0, 1.55, 0.425],
             {"group":""},
             
        ],
        
        "beams": [
              ["id1:", "id2:"],
              //transaxle
              {"beamType":"|NORMAL", "beamLongBound":1.0, "beamShortBound":1.0},
              {"beamSpring":14001000,"beamDamp":300},
              {"beamDeform":2000000,"beamStrength":"FLT_MAX"},
              ["tra1r","e2r"],
              ["tra1l","e2l"],
              ["tra1r","e4r"],
              ["tra1l","e4l"],
              
              ["tra1r","e2l"],
              ["tra1l","e2r"],
              ["tra1r","e4l"],
              ["tra1l","e4r"],
              
              
              ["tra2","e2l"],
              ["tra2","e2r"],
              ["tra2","e4l"],
              ["tra2","e4r"],
              
              ["tra1r","tra2"],
              ["tra1l","tra2"],
              ["tra1r","tra1l"],
              
              //driveshaft-ish beam
              {"beamSpring":5001000,"beamDamp":300},
              {"beamDeform":25000,"beamStrength":40000},
              ["rx2r","tra2",{"name":"super_driveshaft_R"}],
              ["rx2l","tra2",{"name":"super_driveshaft_R"}],
              
              {"beamPrecompression":1, "beamType":"|NORMAL", "beamLongBound":1.0, "beamShortBound":1.0},
        ],
        "hubWheels": [
                ["name","group","node1:","node2:","nodeS","nodeArm:","wheelDir"],
                {"propulsed":1},
        ],
        
    
     
  2. ErikSW

    ErikSW
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Grab the automatic transmission code from any other vehicle and tune shifting points/ratios etc?
     
  3. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,960
    slotType should not be altered. There is no "super_transaxle_auto" slot on the bolide so your part will never be loaded.
     
  4. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Ok, I see. How do I make it selectable through the parts menu, or does the game add it in automatically?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, now, when I load the Bolide, the game freezes like this:

    screenshot_00000.jpg
     
  5. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Whenever the game freezes like that you've most likely got a syntax error in your script. Check the console and/or logs to see what's going on.
     
  6. BaronRedStorm

    BaronRedStorm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    817
    This happened to me when i was making a heavy ibishu covet for a mod i just can't remember what i did to fix it
     
  7. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,286
    I noticed that, first of all, and might not be the complete solution, but you put quotes around "gabester" and "yourname"...both names need to be in 1 set of quotes, "Gabester, YourName". I messed that up once. Otherwise, if that doesn't work (and also suggested before, the `console button will tell you what line you have an issue on) run the updater and let the updater fix the game files you buggered up.
     
  8. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Wow, it's just like programming class. One little quotation mark broke it. Thanks for your help guys!
     
  9. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,960
    by not changing the slot type. Parts on vehicles can define a slot which other parts will then become available in. The slot type then defines which slot the part then appears under. You changed the slot type therefore changing which slot it appears in to one that doesnt exist so it wont appear in the parts menu.

    This is from the "super_engine" part:
    Code:
        "slots": [        ["type", "default", "description"]
            ["super_exhaust","super_exhaust", "Civetta Bolide Exhaust"],
            ["super_transaxle","super_transaxle_M", "Civetta Bolide Transaxle"],
        ],
    So, slot type on the left. The part it should load by default and then a description to display.
    Capture.PNG
    When making custom parts reserve the creation of new slottypes for when actually required. You don't want to do it on this part.
    And for reference I have attached a fixed auto transmission for the bolide.

    Oh, noticed you also changed the flexbody, again you have defined a mesh object which doesnt exist (likely the crash).


    EDIT: also missed the syntax error, that fix wasnt posted when I visited the thread, but I based my file from the original bolide file with your numbers added
     

    Attached Files:

  10. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Thanks, but the fix wont be required. I did end up finding a few syntax errors, they were the only problems after the entire slot thing was fixed. Thanks for your help.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice