Trying to extract the trajectory ball from the AIControl app to a standalone UI app

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Ven Kiir, Feb 7, 2021.

1. Ven Kiir

Ven Kiir
    Expand Collapse

In the AIControl UI app there's a debug mode that shows the trajectory of the vehicle, but the trajectory ball is only visible when the AI is controlling the vehicle. I want to be able to see the trajectory when I'm driving. I can't find the code for the AIControl app though, and once I do find it, would I be able to just extract the code for the trajectory ball into its own app?
    Disclaimer: I have no idea what I'm doing, I have some coding knowledge but no lua knowledge.

2. angelo234

angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Programmer
    BeamNG Team

Edit: That trajectory ball that you want to draw can only come from AI data as that is what the AI calculated where it wants to go to.

The code that draws the trajectory of the AI is located in BeamNG.drive\lua\vehicle\ai.lua and not in the app code, and so the app code calls functions from ai.lua. Here is the code (line 2171)

Code:
    -- Debug Throttle brake application
    trajecRec = {last = 0} -- place this as a global variable

local maxLen = 175
    local len = min(#trajecRec, maxLen)
    local last = trajecRec.last
    if len == 0 or (trajecRec[last][1] - aiPos:toFloat3()):length() > 0.25 then
    [INDENT]last = 1 + last % maxLen
    trajecRec[last] = {aiPos:toFloat3(), lastCommand.throttle, lastCommand.brake}
    len = min(len+1, maxLen)
    trajecRec.last = last[/INDENT]
    end

local fl3 = float3(0.7, aiWidth, 0.7)
    for i = 1, len-1 do
    [INDENT]local n = trajecRec[1+(last+i)%len]
    debugDrawer:drawSquarePrism(trajecRec[1+(last+i-1)%len][1], n[1], fl3, fl3, color(255*sqrt(abs(n[3])), 255*sqrt(n[2]), 0, 100))[/INDENT]
    end