Tutorial: Creating proper PBR materials Pt1: PBR Definition

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by ryakra, Nov 7, 2021.

1. ryakra

ryakra
    Expand Collapse

WORDY NERD WARNING
    If you don't care about the tech nerd words, I suggest jumping down to 'The transition pitfall'

PRELUDE: Who am I exactly?

(Feel free to skip if you don't care lol)​
    I Figure a good start would be explaining exactly why you should listen to this random guy spouting facts about rendering. I go by Zack most places, including the discord where I am quite active, and for some of y'all that will be enough. For the rest, I have worked on mods like the AN-12 and the Cessplane L19. That is is my public modding experience here. In terms of rendering, as of 2021 I have a Bachelors degree in Fine Arts with a 3D generalist specialization. To get that I graduated from one of the top Film/Game schools in the world, Gnomon. During my time there I had the honor to be trained in everything from hard-surface to game creation, each one of the teachers had some amazing titles under their belt. I got to learn from the best, and that is why Gnomon is a first pick school for many companies, and I got my training from there.

How is PBR different from the previous Specular system?
    Physically based rendering (pbr) can be quickly summed up as different parts of rendering that increase accuracy to real materials, being brought into one overall method of material rendering. Previously with BeamNG we had a specular system with a lack of gloss mapping (we had a slider but thats it). Specular was used to say how much a material would reflect:
    High specular values = reflects a lot
    Low specular values = reflects little/none​
    These maps, in some render engines other than BeamNG, can have color to mimic colored reflections of metals. That would be combined with gloss, a value saying how scattered the reflected light is:
    High gloss values = very clear reflections (ex: mirrors)