1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

[Tutorial] How to change vehicle sounds.

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Stratosphere, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    I wonder why this might be happening. I'm going to test my method again and see if it still works and then I will get back to you both.

    EDIT

    It seems to not be working, I think the 0.8 update may have broken it. If a dev could confirm this then that would be great.
     
    #21 Stratosphere, Jan 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  2. I survived 3 abortions

    I survived 3 abortions
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    How do i create an .SEBAM file?
     
  3. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Create a .txt file then save it as an .SBEAM
     
  4. King Ace

    King Ace
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    When I make the sounds for each vehicle, it works just fine. However, when I make the sounds for each individual engine, they don't work. They used to work just fine before the 0.8 update, but I guess the update broke that too. If anyone can help me get this done, that would be greatly appreciated. I'm planning to release a sound pack mod which includes sounds for each vehicle engine, but this problem is delaying my progress and I don't know what to do.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    I think they may be broken, I did some tests and it looks like they are. At least it still works for each vehicle.
     
  6. CP100

    CP100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    214
    Maybe ask SergentFido... It still works in the update. Or take the sbeam file from his Oldsmobile mod and then modify it to your likings...

    I don't know much about the .sbeam as I can't make a proper one but, hopefully this will help you :).
     
  7. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,212
    Thanks from time you took to write this tutorial.

    Few pointers comes to my mind, instead of winrar, use of 7-zip and if one uses someone else's sounds, those cannot uploaded anywhere, it would be stealing of others work and morally wrong unless used with permission from original author.

    Then it would be nice to explain minPitch and maxPitch in tutorial and how to use those to get sound to match rpm, for example you can use "maxRpm" or integer value for maxPitch.

    Usually engine sound is recorded at different rpm and one has to then adjust pitch so sample is played at correct pitch for the rpm, some game engines have variable for sample rpm, then min and max rpm sound is played, in BeamNG you set min and max pitch, and I guess if offset is 0 sample's recorded rpm is assumed to be middle of min and max pitch rpm, but I have not tested this because lack of time.

    My current theory is that if you have sample recorded at 4000rpm, and you set max pitch to 5000rpm, min pitch to 3000rpm, you get rpm to sound correct as 4000rpm sits at middle. However don't kill me if my theory is wrong, haven't found time to test this and information about those parameters seems to be someplace where I haven't looked or simply not existing, so have a play with that and test the theory.

    I have found out that you can get away by using only one sample for limited rpm range, but of course for wider rpm range you need more samples recorded at different rpm to avoid sound becoming too distorted/bad/horrible as it is only so much you can change pitch of a sample.

    I'm sure there are clever methods to get rpm out from sample using audacity and clever mathematics, but I usually can hear rpm by ear to enough close.
     
  8. HighDef

    HighDef
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    363
  9. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    I love your mod by the way! Make a specific folder for each engine, then make an .sbeam that matches up with your engine.
     
  10. HighDef

    HighDef
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    363
    I have just finished all the sounds and files and it is sounding great! I have like 5-6 samples for each engine.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. wrinkle345

    wrinkle345
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    549
    Does anyone here know how to increase the volume of sounds? I've tried changing the mac/min volumes and it never seems to get louder after a point.
     
  12. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,212
    I'm not sure about range of that parameter, but when I have adjusted it keeping 1.0 as maximum, other sounds set to less than 1.0 do play quieter than sound set to 1.0, but I'm not sure if that changes overall volume much, if you have all sound as 0.5 it might sound equally loud, that might just adjust relation of each sound to each other and to environment sounds as well as probably affects to distance which sound is heard from.

    Adaptive hearing effect I guess, kind of same way how in dark cave you still see and when looked out from cave outside looks lot brighter, same way if your only engine sound is set to 0.5 and it is loudest/closest sound, it will still sound like same volume as when loudest/closest sound is 1.0, of course within certain limits.

    I'm not 100% certain of this however, but what little I have fooled around with sbeam, that is impression that I have got, also haven't checked if there is anything in wiki about this, so you might like to look from there too.

    Also I don't know if audio features are 1:1 with Torque3D or if there is some custom code, but looking for Torque3D documentation about sound might give some more ideas about how volume levels behave.
     
  13. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    If you have already tried adjust the max/min, then maybe try adjusting the volume of your sounds on audacity or any other similar programs.
     
  14. 0rangeGhost

    0rangeGhost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    any news in sound changing? i tried everything i could emagin but all i've got is no sound in game. the most interesting - the sound mods from repo works fine, i even tried to take .sbeam file from that mod and put in mine, but still no sound
     
  15. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    I think it maybe working with just cars, but maybe engines as well.
     
  16. Confused_Deer43

    Confused_Deer43
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    204
    I have a slight interest to try recording my own sound. This needs a good quality mic and well isolated area for recording doesn't it?
    Also, how would one record the sound at a steady rpm for the 4 seconds needed?
     
  17. Stratosphere

    Stratosphere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Yes, a good quality mic and well isolated area would be crucial in making high quality sounds. Maybe record the sound at desired rpm for 1 seconds and then repeat it.
     
  18. nfinitysound

    nfinitysound
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Has anyone had issues with the 2 engine sounds playing at once? I have my modded engine sound playing and also the default engine sound. I have defined the 'soundGroup' parameter in my engine jbeam but still also plays the default v8 sound (V8_default.ogg) as well.

    Here is my setup..

    'soundGroup' in my modded engine jbeam file -

    "engine":{
    "soundGroup":"v10",
    },


    Here is my sbeam file -

    {
    "modifiers":[
    ["name", "source", "factor", "offset", "min", "max"],
    ["engine_throttle", "engineThrottle", 1, 0, 0.65, 1],
    ["turbo_throttle", "throttle", 0.5, 0, 0.1, 0.4],
    ],
    "sounds":[
    ["group", "filename", "profile", "nodeName", "source", ... ]
    ["default", "V8_default.ogg", "AudioDefaultLoop3D", "ENGINE", "rpm", ... ]
    ["default", "turbo_03.ogg", "AudioDefaultLoop3D", "ENGINE", "turboRpmRatio", ... ]
    ["v10", "v10.ogg", "AudioDefaultLoop3D", "ENGINE", "rpm", ... ]
    }
     
    #38 nfinitysound, Jan 31, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2017
  19. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,212
    You are defining there to play default V8 sound, default is always playing as it is default.

    You need to comment out that V8 line completely, put // to front of the line or alternatively delete whole line, I like to comment out first and see if things work, when they work it is safe to remove commented out line.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. nfinitysound

    nfinitysound
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the response.

    Is there a way to keep the V8_default.ogg in the sbeam file for the other default engines in game? I only want the v10 sound I made for my v10 engine mod for the D-series....