1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

Update Speculation thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crazikyle, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3,091
    Look at the frame, it appears to have the same A-shaped frame of the pigeon
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    667
    The consoles have roughly equivalent CPU power to a r5 3600, while this not a particularly good CPU to run beam on you can expect 8 cars to run smoothly... It's alot better than the forum user's average of moms old Ultrabook.
     
    • Agree Agree x 13
  3. KrukasKlep

    KrukasKlep
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    669
    Still, the interface and the controls would be a nightmare
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
  4. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,957
    Also, controls for basically any extra items..
    Shift+ctrl+alt+backslash+a+t for black hole.
     
  5. ryakra

    ryakra
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    You know you can already play the game with only a controller right? the entire UI works with controller. I use one often and it works perfectly fine. Not the best in some aspects but it works. If KSP can be made to run on console why cant beamng some day? It used to be a performance issue and now that is changing, now its just a time issue.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. ElectricFoxES

    ElectricFoxES
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    I'm sorry, what? Sorry for off-topic but what exactly makes it not a good CPU? It's not exactly the latest and greatest but it's pretty darn up to par for modern CPU performance. At stock clocks mine runs effortlessly. Granted, I've "only" got 8 GB of RAM (for how hungry this game is) and a GTX 770, which already kinda struggles with lighting, but the 3600 is absolutely not a bottleneck in regular solo play. Is there something I'm missing by not playing with AI? The physics benchmark returns a max of 20 cars. Is this inaccurate??
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3,091
    It's not a matter of can and can't, it's a matter of "is it worth it for the beamng devs to do all this work for a game that hasn't left alpha?"
    the devs have said no multiple times.
     
    • Agree Agree x 11
  8. ryakra

    ryakra
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Yeah that is what I meant by 'its just a time issue'
    Its too much work to do atm
     
  9. dart

    dart
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    how long have the Sideskirts slot and the Rollcage slot been in the midsize jbeam for?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot_2.png
    • Screenshot_1.png
    • Like Like x 3
  10. Uzthiudiskazspreko

    Uzthiudiskazspreko
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Glad to see more things coming to BeamNG. Looking forward to when BeamNG is fully done many years from now and all things that will come.
    More likely than not that heaps more EV will come within next 20 years. :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Nacho Problem

    Nacho Problem
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,454
    also how would you even port it to consoles ? its designed around being a sandbox pc game
    mods wouldnt work, word editor wouldnt work, track maker wouldnt work everything would need to be changed
     
    • Agree Agree x 7
  12. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    667
    The Xbox operating system is basically a cut down version of windows 10 so from a purely technical perspective it should be rather easy (it's not plug and play but not a completer rewrite of the renderer either) world editor isn't really needed for a console game track editor neither (who uses it anyway) mods would work fine they would probably have a separate repo but other games two have console mods, or look at steam workshop...
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  13. Nacho Problem

    Nacho Problem
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,454
    what ? i had a stroke trying to read this
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. BlackMetal

    BlackMetal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Just because you don't use doesn't mean majority of us is not using it. It would just slow down the progress of expanding it on PC as well
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  15. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    667
    Well I'm not saying that i want the devs to make a Xbox version. Never had a console don't plan on either. I just say that from a technical Perspektive its feasable
    --- Post updated ---
    Sry sometimes i forget all of those dots
     
  16. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,987
    Then don't assume that most people don't use the World Editor because it's not true, it's very useful even for people who don't make maps, you can easily and precisely position and rotate cars and props with it
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  17. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    667
    I specifically said that (in my experience) few people use the track editor. The world editor, while certainly useful has simply no place in a console version, imagine the console version of fallout 4 had the creation kit packaged with it, that plainly makes no sense
     
  18. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,987
    Sorry I couldn't tell what exactly you meant there because your sentence has no commas at all, I thought you meant that nobody uses the track editor and nobody uses world editor either. Please use commas.
     
  19. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    667
    Yes just gotta figure out how,,,,,:)
     
  20. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Has this been here? Sorry if it has been.

    Source:
    https://documentation.beamng.com/beamng_tech/
     
    • Like Like x 17
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice