vehicle-lua -> set brakingTorque?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by slimSpencer, Feb 2, 2015.

1. slimSpencer

slimSpencer
    Expand Collapse

hello @all,

first, i want to say that i'm quite new to LUA (coming from VB) and have not really any deep insight/understanding of the beamNG structure...

I'm currently working on some driving assistance systems (Traction Control and maybe ESC). I try to achieve this using a custom lua-file in vehicle_dir\lua\myfile.lua.

What i realized so far is that i can read/set many 'interesting' vars inside updateGFX-function per frame.
    For example, i managed to write a simple traction control reading wheel speed from drivetrain.wheels and setting drivetrain.throttle accordingly.

Now i got 2 questions/problems:

1) setting brakingTorque doesn't seem to work.
    simple example - i would expect this code to keep brakingTorque at 500 continously but there's no braking applied at all...
    PHP:
    local function updateGFX(dt)
        for 
    n,wd in pairs(drivetrain.wheels) do

wd.obj.brakingTorque 500    
        end

msg 
    ""

for n,wd in pairs(drivetrain.wheels) do

msg msg .. wd.name .. "->" .. string.format("%.1f"wd.obj.brakingTorque) .. ", "                    

end    
        gui
    .message(msg)            
    end
    2) reading vars from UI-app
    How can i read vars from my vehicle-lua-file inside my UI-app?
    PHP:
    local function updateGFX(dt)

testvar "hello"
    end
    How to get "hello" displayed in my app?

Thanks in advance and best regards :)

Spencer

2. Miura

Miura
    Expand Collapse

Maybe it would work with "brakeTorque" instead? It's a bit confusing, but drivetrain.lua uses both "brakeTorque" and "brakingTorque".

I'm using drivetrain.wheels[wheelID].brakeTorque for brake control, and a code that matches the wheelID with the wheel name.

I don't know anything about UI apps, so I can't help with that.

3. CarlosAir

CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse